Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
no need to boil potatoes beforehand. just do the same thing, but in a pressure cooker. it will cook faster, 15-20 mins. add all ingredients in same order....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Followed the recipe and it turned out better than I thought. Real Indian smells and flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by daveycooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
I omitted the oil, sugar and salt, used fresh ginger instead of ginger garlic paste, and used tomato sauce instead of puree. This has great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Easy and tasty with a few minor modifications. I used 1 C of tomato puree & nearly doubled the seasonings. I also used far less oil--about 2 tablespoons rather than 1/4 cup to reduce the amount of saturated fat. When the potatoes started to stick, I just added a bit of water to help them steam. I do like my aloo mattar on the "soupy" side, and this recipe was quite thick even with the additional tomato puree. That said, this dish is delicious served with naan or roti and a little tamarind chutney. Even my picky boyfriend loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jolisouci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Capron, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
I would give this 5 stars but it was way too frustrating to see my peas melting and having raw potatoes on a skillet. I tried cooking them for 4 minutes on the microwave before I did anything, but I ended up cooking the potatoes at the very end for 2 more minutes in the microwave because they were still raw (and fishing them out of the concoction wasn't easy!). I also added the whole small can of tomato puree and it made it less dry. This dish has an excellent flavor. Next time I will def cook the potatoes beforehand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
I followed others suggestions and used 1.5 TBS garam masala and substituted diced tomatoes for tomato paste. I also boiled the potatoes before sauteing them. It came out really tasty! In the future, I might add some dried chili pepper to give it more kick. It was flavorful with extra garam masala, but not spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Super easy to make, cheap and delicious. There wasn't enough liquid, so added a can of tomato juice (12-oz for a double batch) and extra sugar (to taste) to balance out the acidity. I found it necessary to follow the recommendation for additional extra garam masala, though it probably depends on what brand you're using. I will make this again soon, but will boil or pressure cook the potatoes separately. While this adds some steps (and another pot to clean), it will allow me to cut down on the amount of oil I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Moraga, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Added hot Indian Chilli Powder to taste for spicy dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAIA3441

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This was wonderful. I followed the directions but also took in what others said about it being bland so I threw in some curry and cumin, microwaved 2 potatoes (4 would of been to much, but I was only making it for 2 and it was still to much) for 2.5 min which I think really helped, I couldn't of seen them being cooked the way it was written without adding more time. I also added more cilantro because I love it and just enough water in the end to make a smooth texture rather than sticky or clumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flavorablesoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Oh yum! This recipe was easy & delicious. I used my new pressure cooker for the very first time to make this recipe tonight & it was done in a jiffy - 8min after reaching proper pressure. I did saute the onions in the oil along w/ freshly grated ginger & garlic (I didn't have any ginger garlic paste) and the bay leaf before adding the remaining ingredients & sealing the pressure cooker, but I think I may skip the extra step next time & just throw it all in together. I also didn't wait to add the pureed tomato & remaining spices; I just added them with the potatoes & peas just before sealing the cooker. I was short one potato, so I added a sweet potato in its place and it was great (if you do that, I suggest omitting the sugar). I also added a bit of cumin, turmeric, and mustard seed and a dash of red chili powder. Instead of plain salt, I added hibiscus salt (I bought it on a whim and had yet to really put it to use). I also added a can of coconut milk and about a tbs of butter. I know that's a lot of changes, but it seemed like this recipe would be very forgiving. All and all, we were extremely happy with the results. Next time, I may increase the peas to 1 1/2c, but otherwise, I thought the ratios were perfect. I served this with rice, buttered soft pita, and a simple raita made with about 1/2c lowfat plain yogurt, a dash each of salt, garlic powder, and cumin, 1/2 of a peeled and pureed cucumber and about 1tsp pureed tomato. Thank you for a great recipe! YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States