Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2005
I made a few modifications, but it turned out to be delicious. I used a combination of fresh ginger and garlic for the garlic ginger paste. I also couldn't find the darn garam masala at the store, so I made my own mixture of cloves, cinnamon, cumin, ground mustard and tumeric (mostly tumeric). I added water to the potatoes to help them along and added the peas when adding the tomatoes, etc. I'm eating it right now, and it tastes fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Loved this recipe! We used spicy Hungarian paprika, so I reduced it by 1/2 tsp and we added 1/2 cup more peas after reading some of the other reviews. It turned out fantastic! I think a lot of how this turns out has to do with the ginger garlic paste. We used 'Patak's Original' brand 'Spicy Ginger & Garlic Marianade & Grill Sauce Tandoori Mild'. If you are from areas where you have HEB Central Market stores - that is where we found our's. We also use it in the Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken) recipe from this site and it is just fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2005
Not enough flavor. Too much potatoe, not enough peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Supprized - I really don't like curry and I dreaded the idea of having a dish with no meat; but for something that I found via searching for the only ingrediants I had at hand the other day it turned out to be a big hit! I added more peas and used diced tomatoes and a bit of tomato paste to thiken it up. I overcooked the potatoes when I boiled them first (on purpose as was in a hurry)so the sause ended up having a really nice thick texture to it. Was a wonderful last minute meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
Not particularly authentic Indian, but delicious as a side dish and very good over rice. I also added some peas to round it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
Great recipe...I tend to change things alot though: I only used 2 potatoes, and an entire large bag of frozen peas. Also doubled or even tripled spices. Rather than sugar I used about a tsp. each of cinnamon and cloves, and rather than paprika, I used curry and chili powder to spice it up a bit. To reduce fat, I only used about a tsp. of oil and that worked just fine. Using crused or diced tomatoes rather than puree adds some moisture to the sauce to pour over rice or dip Naan into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Pretty good. Has a nice flavor. Note that this dish generates enough sauce to cover the potatoes and peas, but not enough to mix the result in with rice. It also took a lot of work to get the potatoes cooked correctly (despite the other reviewers' advice). First, at the beginning instead of cooking the potatoes covered for 15 minutes with the peas, I cooked the potatoes covered for 15 minutes alone and added the peas and cooked for five more minutes. Throughout the recipe I kept a little water at the bottom of the pan to help steam the potatoes and prevent burning. Yet, despite this, the potatoes were still undercooked at the end of the recipe; I needed to cook, covered, an additional ten minutes to finish them. But because of this, the peas ended up somewhat flat and overcooked. Next time I'll either boil the potatoes for a little while before starting, or cook the potatoes alone until they're basically done and then add the peas and continue with the recipe. I used one tablespoon of ground ginger and one tablespoon of garlic powder instead of the ginger-garlic paste. I used two teaspoons of dried cilantro flakes (instead of two tablespoons of chopped fresh); supposedly that's the appropriate ratio.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2005
This was just okay for me. My husband really like it though. It was a little too tangy-I prefer some heat in my Indian dishes. I much prefer Aloo Phujia from this site because it is a lot spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2005
Another big hit in my family. Hearty and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States