Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I hate to give a medium review, but I really only kind of liked this dish, just personal preference. It was spicy but didn't have much flavor, sadly. My family didn't like it very much either, although we did all agree that it tasted better with a little nonfat yogurt with orange peel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2007
This is such an easy dish to make that I often make it for my friends and family. I always get lots of compliments on it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2007
Add water while cooking, way more garlic. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I didnt care much for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
Good, but I'm going to use only three potatoes next time. That's just my taste though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
Very straightforward to make and a big success with my husband (which surprised me!). I couldn't find ginger garlic paste, so I just used diced garlic instead, and this worked fine. I added about 1/2 cup more tomato paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
very good, but lacks a bit of flavor. I added more of every spice to make it more tasty. it also needed more salt. It became soo thick and heavy, so the next day, I mixed it in with cooked pasta, and added some of the pasta water to loosen it up a bit. Now the kids like it more. All in all, it's good if we make the right modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
Not really authentic-tasting but very good. I liked the simplicity of this budget recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunFlower

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Charleroi, Hainaut, Belgium
Living In: Jette, Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
It's really pretty good. We liked it very much. I think that I could serve this to my Indian in-laws and feel proud! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pima, Arizona, USA
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I thought it was good, but it really needing some spicing up. Only 1 1/2 tsp of garam masala? I probably used at least 2 TBS just in order to taste it. I used chopped garlic and ginger, worked fine. I pre-cooked the potatoes in a large pot with garlic, salt and pepper. And sauteed the onions/garlic separately, then mixed together when the potatoes were about done (about 20 mins). I also used a small can of tomato paste, and topped it off with some V8 juice (about 2 cups)... it made it nice and creamy. Added fresh tomatoes and lots of peas... some dried chili flakes. Served it over garlic-tasted pita... delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TINAPEACOCK

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States