Aloo Matar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rusty Berry
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Fricken awesome!!! Make sure you get your spices at an Indian store
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
This recipe was just ok for me, I love indian food, especially with potatoes, but the pureed tomatoes seemed to make this recipe too thick for me, I think it would have been much better with tomato sauce. I didn't have a problem with the potatoes cooking, as other reviewers had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Wonderful flavor and easy to make. Will definitely be making this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jiriki13

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I really love this recipe, its simple and quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I am giving this recipe 3stars as it was very low on spice. Also, omitted the sugar as most of the ingredients, potato, peas, tomato and onions already have a sweet taste. I guess other reviewers also experiencing the dish being low on spice could also be because of jacked up sweetness in the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Tried it last night. This the first main that my wife, Michelle, has eaten without meat for at least 20 years but the potatoes got past that "the end of the world is nigh" feeling in her Irish/Polish blood. That plus the excellent, delicious flavour. Unlike many reviewers we did not rewrite the menu, we did use our own home-made tomato sauce (ketchup)and we forgot the coriander (cilantro) but we would thoroughly recommend this dish. Michelle's rating was 'superb!' One point, there is no way the spuds will cook in 15 minutes unless you do what we did which was to steam them separately and that took 15 minutes using bamboo steamers and very rapidly boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carrienoel
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I don't like reviewing recipes when I've readjusted the ingredients, however the base of this dish is delicious and so easy that I had to say something. I only made minimal adjustments...1) I halved the paprika. 2)I wanted mine more "saucy" and creamy, like my local Indian restaurant makes it, so I added a 1/4 cup more tomato puree and a 3 Tbs half and half. 3) I omitted the cilantro, because, for some reason, cilantro holds onto my taste buds and won't let me taste anything else. That's all, the spices and the method of cooking are spot on for me. You can make your own naan to go with it, but if you have a Trader Joe's near you - they have terrific frozen naan in their freezer section.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carrienoel

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Oak Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Fantastic!! Don't even need meat. Perfect for warming you from the inside out on cold days. Full of flavour. Will have to make it again soon. Everyone loved it and it was quick easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was easy to make and a big hit with my family (which I haven't had many of since trying to cook vegan!) Next time I make it I'll add some water and double the puree and spices to make it more liquidy, but the flavor of this dish is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Made this with smoked paprika and it was THE BOMB!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Vegetarian Korma

This easy vegetarian Indian dish is rich, creamy and mildly spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States