Aloo Gobi Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This was good and I will make this again. My house smelled like an Indian restaurant as I was making this. Chile peppers were omitted because I didn't have any. It will still moderately spicy. After 20 minutes, the cauliflower was still crunchy, so I ended up cooking it almost double the length stated in the recipe. I served it with whole wheat pitas and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by candice
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Overall pretty darn good. But we found it to be so spicy it was almost inedible. Next time I will cut down on the cayenne pepper. I also found that the cooking time was almost double what was recommended, to get my cauliflower cooked all the way through. I also substituted chickpeas for potatoes, chopped ginger for the ginger paste, added cilantro and used the entire can of coconut milk because I wanted it saucy. Served over rice and it was so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
humm... maybe I didn't something wrong but it didn't taste very good... the after taste of turmeric made it a little bitter and metalic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meatless Mama
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
My husband and I love spicy food so this was a great recipe for us! This is not for those who prefer mild dishes. Like Candice, I wanted the dish to be a little saucy so it could be served over rice. I used about 3/4 can of coconut milk. Also, I read the reviews which state that the cauliflower takes too long to cook. So while I was preparing the rest of the dish, I steamed the cauliflower in a separate pot. Then I added the steamed cauliflower to the dish to cut down on the cook time. Don't steam too much or the cauliflower will become mushy after cooking it with the rest of the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Riv969
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
So freaking good!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Riv969

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Pretty good recipe... although I did leave out the peppers (it was plenty spicy for me without!). I would cut the potatoes smaller, the cauliflower was done faster than the potatoes. I used a dutch oven to make this... probably would work better with a non-stick pan... all the spices were sticking to the bottom of the pot. I did de-glaze with some stock to pick these bits up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine VW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Very good. I'll make again. My guest's loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NBRNINE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Creek, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KitchenWitch
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I don't know why, but I had a really hard time with this recipe. The potatoes and spices scorched my pan badly. I added the oil so I don't know what went wrong. I used a nonstick pot. I'm perplexed. I was determined to make it work, so I added a little water and a tad more oil just to keep it from burning. Needless to say, it didn't come out crunchy :( I only cooked mine for the time given, and I liked the crunchier contrast of the cauliflower. I left out the peppers which was a mistake in my opinion, I should have used at least 1/2 of one since I was only cooking for four people. However, in the end of this culinary fiasco, this tasted good. Therefor, I give it four stars. I may try it again tomorrow and see if I can figure it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
We did not enjoy this very much, although we did eat it. I had trouble with the potatoes and cauliflower scorching on the bottom of the pan and ended up pouring in some water to save it all. I did use only one chile, as per the submitter's suggestion to adjust to taste. There seems to be a little something missing from the spice mix or maybe the quantities are out, but the flavour was off compared to other aloo gobi I have tried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Made some minor changes (no serranos, used extra red pepper, etc.) and it was delicious. I'll use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Red Lentil Curry

See how to make a quick-and-easy vegetarian curry.

Easy Garam Masala

See how to make your own Indian spice blend at home.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States