Aloo Gobi ki Subzi (Potatoes and Cauliflower) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Fantastic recipe. To thicken the sauce, pureed poatoes may be added along with the potatoe cubes. I have found this gives the dish a more authentic flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
I have been looking ALL over the place for this recipe. I never knew what it was called cuz I only had it at a friends house a few times. (she moved before I could ask her about it though) Anyway, this recipe ROCKS!!! I'm a vegetarian and it's really filling and good for you. YUM YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2001
Was dry with only a thin sauce. I usually prefer something with a little more gravy. I also prefer something a little spicier, so next time I might "do it up" a bit. Nonetheless, it was still very good, simple and filling. A great week-night dinner, served with rotis or rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
Very delicious, but not really like aloo gobi in an Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
Thank you so much for this recipe! I added some garlic powder and substituted canned chopped tomatoes in place of the fresh. I have tried to order this recipe in restaurants but it never seems to look/taste the way I like it. Finally, I found what I was looking for. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2001
This was a hit with me (vegetarian), but not with my family. Kids weren't thrilled, but they ate it. If I make this again, I will reduce the amount of cauliflower to 1/2 a head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I just wanted to let STARLITI know that the Aloo Gobi in the Indian restaurants will not taste like this recipe. Reasons: the oil used is much more and the cauliflower heads and/or the potatoes may also be deep fried before being mixed in. This recipe is a dish that is served on a regular basis in Indian homes and that is why it cannot be as rich as the one served in the Indian restaurants. The nice thing about Indian recipes is that you can mix ad vary the amount of spices based on your tastes - once you have figured out what you like! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe is a mild and homely tasting Indian side dish. Don't expect it to have the restaurant taste.Its ideal for people who want a mild yet flavourful curry over rice.Go easy on the cumin and mustard seeds.. just a pinch would be enough I used the garlic paste available in Indian stores and that worked out fine. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2002
Seems so exotic and delicious, and it is pretty tasty, but only because stewed vegetables taste good together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
Would have liked more flavor. Will probably go to the spice rack for help next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Butter-Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States