Aloo Gobi ki Subzi (Potatoes and Cauliflower) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2001
I just wanted to let STARLITI know that the Aloo Gobi in the Indian restaurants will not taste like this recipe. Reasons: the oil used is much more and the cauliflower heads and/or the potatoes may also be deep fried before being mixed in. This recipe is a dish that is served on a regular basis in Indian homes and that is why it cannot be as rich as the one served in the Indian restaurants. The nice thing about Indian recipes is that you can mix ad vary the amount of spices based on your tastes - once you have figured out what you like! Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2001
Fantastic recipe. To thicken the sauce, pureed poatoes may be added along with the potatoe cubes. I have found this gives the dish a more authentic flair.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
Pretty decent all the way around. I added more than a pinch of turmeric; the asafoetida was, as in any dish, unnecessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest Park, Washington, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2006
As written I thought this dish was lacking the Indian taste I like so much. I didn't use the asafoetida. It was very bland so I made the following changes. I used two cans Of diced tomatoes undrained instead of the romas, added more tumeric and cumin seeds, a dash of nutmeg, and some chili garlic paste and served over rice. The end result delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2001
I have been looking ALL over the place for this recipe. I never knew what it was called cuz I only had it at a friends house a few times. (she moved before I could ask her about it though) Anyway, this recipe ROCKS!!! I'm a vegetarian and it's really filling and good for you. YUM YUM YUM.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2004
This smelled wonderful when it was cooking! Next time I'll double everything except the cauliflower and potato--using the whole amounts really overwhelmed the spices and made it far blander than I'd like. And leftovers would be fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
This was okay. I didn't find the combination of mustard and cumin seeds to provide much flavor, so I also used red pepper, cumin, and coriander, which the aloo gobi recipe in my cookbook uses. I also added chicken broth to make it more saucy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2001
Thank you so much for this recipe! I added some garlic powder and substituted canned chopped tomatoes in place of the fresh. I have tried to order this recipe in restaurants but it never seems to look/taste the way I like it. Finally, I found what I was looking for. Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe is a mild and homely tasting Indian side dish. Don't expect it to have the restaurant taste.Its ideal for people who want a mild yet flavourful curry over rice.Go easy on the cumin and mustard seeds.. just a pinch would be enough I used the garlic paste available in Indian stores and that worked out fine. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I liked this recipe very much. I just added some chopped garlic and cilantro. Thank you for recipe. I have made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Butter Roasted Cauliflower

See how to make tender, beautifully caramelized roasted cauliflower.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States