Aloo Gobi Masala (Cauliflower and Potato Curry) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
I really loved this. The only changes I made were to use a very large onion, and the addition of 2 Tbsps ground cashew and 1 tsp. ground black sesame seeds. I think it would have been just as good without these changes. I'd rate it more than 5 stars if I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4n20blackbirds

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: College Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This was super easy to make and delicious. The leftovers were even better. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This was fabulous! I only had one fresh tomato, so added a can of diced tomatoes (no salt). The entire family loved it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I like this recipe quite a bit. I, like many of the other reviewers, don't microwave cooking much, so, I first roasted the potatoes and cauliflower for 25 min at 475 F instead and it worked out very well. I added peas, too. If you want this dish saucy, I suggest using canned crushed tomatoes instead of fresh. This way,you can adjust sauciness to your liking by varying qty of tomato. I used about 1/2 of a large 28 oz can and it came out great. As others reported, Veg broth would probably work, as well, but, I didn't have any. I also suggest that you double the amount of curry powder that vburrito's published recipe calls for. Bob Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
This recipe was wonderful as is. If it gets a little dry, I would just add a little chicken broth. I did add 1/2 tsp. more curry powder, but otherwise I made as is. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I would recommend this site, if your into foods it’s a must www.gourmandia.com
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
This was actually very quick and tasteful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
OK, seriously amazing. I love this dish anyway, but the idea of microwaving the potatoes and cauliflower to cut cooking time...brilliant. I sorta merged two versions of this recipe...an old cookbook which had a bunch of spices and traditional cooking methods and this recipe which had modern versions and methods in it. Kept the tomatoes (awesome), used the microwave for the potatoes and cauliflower (brilliant), eliminated the oil (cooking spray), used real ginger and garlic (tsp each), no curry powder as I hate it (sub garam masala for pure awesomeness). Amazingly, this does not include turmeric or cumin (~1/2 tsp each), which I consider crucial (very earthy) but in a pinch the recipe is sufficient as is. I have tried paneer, carrots, chicken, and sweet potatoes for this recipe (dependent on what I have on-hand), all amazing in their own right. If you like a creamier gravy add equal parts milk or cream + broth to the sauce at the end. simmer until thickened. Serves well with chopped cilantro, mango chutney and/or yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juno_lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
One of my favorite Indian dishes. I omitted the tomato (for our picky 6 year old). Added turmeric, coriander, garam masala, and a pinch of paprika. I served it with a small dollop of plain yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2013
I thought this turned out great! I made a few amendments though... Like other reviewers, I prefer not to cook in the microwave if possible. And since I don't have a steamer, I couldn't steam the veggies. Instead, I boiled the cauliflower in chicken stock for 12 minutes, then removed them from the water. Then I boiled the potatoes in the same broth for about 20-25 minutes (until they were soft-ish). Then cooked it all together. I like it spicy, so I added 1 teaspoon of garam masala and 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper. It turned out so delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States