Aloha Coleslaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2015
So I took this recipe and made it over the top. I used 1/2 head shredded cabbage, some carrots, some chopped almonds, craisens, toasted coconut, cilantro, chunk pineapple, and a dressing made from half mayo and half vanilla yogurt with 3tbsp of coconut white balsamic vinegar. Hubby said it was too sweet and not tangy enough. Maybe next time I'll use Apple cider vinegar instead. It was still really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This recipe fell short of my expectations. I made it a second time. To jazz up a mundane affair I added a bit more "aloha". 3/4 cup chopped green onions, a splash of tabasco, and a dash of red pepper flakes and 1/4 cup coconut milk. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
We also thought this recipe needed a little something. So, we added chopped Mandarin (drained), and chopped walnuts. The flavor (tropical), is greatly enhanced. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Stunning Fridge Cleaner! I used the recipe mostly as is. Leftover cabbage head from St Paddy's. Used fresh chopped pineapple chunks from the fridge and other zip bag items that 'were getting there'. Added a l/4 finely chopped sweet onion I found, and some finely chopped celery that was languishing. A 3/4 bottle of Kraft cole slaw dressing was hanging around. I used that with a splash of sherry vinegar, 2 tsp celery seed, 1/2 tsp celery salt, a few grinds of pepper and 1 tsp curry powder. Maybe I need to post this because it is unbelievably delicious even before it marinades. Thanks for the kick start on this great coleslaw!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Everyone raved about this I crushed real pineapple and then drained it and added it. I also added one thinly sliced vidalia onion - amazing and now my only coleslaw dish. Excellent served with ribs!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arnandlor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orangeville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
This has an intense flavor . It,s like your tongue is trying to do the mambo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
As written, this recipe is just okay. Like other reviewers mentioned, it is definitely missing something. I added a splash of vinegar and that brightened it up a bit. I like the idea of the pineapple to sweeten the slaw, but it just feels like it needs...more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Pedro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I combine this with the Hawaiian Coleslaw recipe and made a modified version for my Luau themed 30th birthday party. I also added a can of mandarin oranges, drained along with 1/4 tsp ginger. Overall it was pretty good, and went well with the theme, but I think it could have used more flavor so next time I would play around with the measurements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Good, but needs a little doctoring up. We added raisins and sliced almonds the first round. The next we plan on adding some apple cider vinegar, and maybe some crasins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Found this recipe after having a coleslaw at a restaurant that we loved - the chef gave us his recipe, without any quantities, just the ingredients- he did not know how to scale it down from the jumbo size can/5 heads cabbage, etc. The only difference was that he added white vinegar & sugar. Perhaps this is what was "missing" for some reviewers. I made it with the vinegar and it was very similar to the one we had at the restaurant.... I always make coleslaw ahead of time, let it chill then taste test to see if it needs any sweetening or any tang from more vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Apple Jicama Coleslaw

See how to make a fresh, wonderfully crispy, crunchy coleslaw.

Spicy Peach Coleslaw

Sweet, juicy peaches make this spicy slaw the perfect summer side.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States