Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I have made this recipe twice with excellent results. My husband loves it. I did modify the recipe some as I did not have all the ingredients listed. Instead of ketchup I used a can of tomato soup and white wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar. I also used low sodium soy sauce and garlic powder not garlic salt. Also instead of basting the chicken with the soy sauce mixture - I mixed ALL the ingredients in one bowl and covered the chicken in it. Much easier! Turned out great and it will be a regular in our house! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This was OK, but my familiar was not bowled over. The chicken became extremely tender though - no need for a knife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Erie, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
I made this a couple nights ago. I was searching for a "sweet" chicken recipe that I had all the ingredients for. At first I was a little leery of the ketchup addition, however, once the dish was complete and we all tasted it, it is a real winner and not hard to prepare at all. I'm a mother of 3 children, ages 2 up to 8, and I have a husband who should be a food critic. They all enjoyed it, even my 4 year old little boy who turns his nose up at anything with vegetables in it. This was a great dish for the cold weather we're having here. I served it over jasmine rice. Easy prep and it satisfied my whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wamego, Kansas, USA
Living In: Oregon City, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I made this with boneless, skinless chicken breast and basted both sides of the breast, cooked it for 15 minutes, applied the other sauce and cooked it for 25 more minutes. This is, by far, the best chicken I've ever had!! I served it with carrots instead of rice and we used teryaki sauce instead of soy sauce. I highly recommend this!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DaniellePaoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Haven, Florida, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I thought the recipe had no real flavor except for being salty.I als cut back on the salt like suggested by the other reviewers and still very salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Terrific recipe, Amy! I reduced the garlic salt in the marinade, and doubled the sauce recipe as others suggested. I made another couple of modifications to use things that I had on hand. I used a 29 oz. can of sliced peaches instead of the pineapple. ( sorry Amy, a great recipe like this always inspires me to adlib, and I didn't have pineapple! ) I reseved the peach syrup, as others had said that their sauce was too runny. I also chucked in the last 2 ozs. of a jar of mango / pineapple salsa, and a dab of cranberry & fig preserves. When you have dabs of jelly lurking in the fridge, this is a great type recipe to use them up! One other tweak that I did was to add a couple of dashes of worcestershire and a couple of generous squirts of hot chili sauce, as we love things sweet AND spicy. You can usually find hot chili sauce in the chinese food section of your grocery store. It's a very flavorful sauce that isn't real hot unless you use too much! Served this over a bed of white rice and, oh mama, dat's tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tootoolz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: La Marque, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
I was not too impressed by this recipe. I lowered the amount of ketchup and it still had a strong tomato taste. I was looking for a sweet/sour taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NSUNRISE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
We ended up loving this, even though we had some major doubts when we were mixing the sauce. It had a little kick to it and we'll definitely be making it again. ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Family didn't like this very much. The sauce was too runny. It was like water. I probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Humboldt, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Albany, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States