Aloha Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2000
This recipe is good, but not as presented, that is for sure. Take a real good look at this -- 1 tablespoon onion powder 2 tablespoons garlic salt Heavens! A tablespoon! With soy sauce, too? I knew this would be too salty, so I switched to 1 teaspoon each of onion powder and garlic powder (not salt). Then I used low salt soy sauce. Even then it was rather salty. Think next time I'll use minced garlic and onion instead. I also saw the cook time was ridiculous. It should only take about 30 minutes at that temp to cook bites of chicken. I basted 7 minutes each side and then cooked for 20 minutes with the topping. I still think I could drop the basting to 5 a piece. It sounds like this recipe was not only misprinted, but with the cook time and amount of ingredients, I think it was originally for a whole chicken pieced out. I also used pineapple chunks which I mashed up a bit, so that there would still be chunks which my kids love. Next time I will probably use those new shaped pineapples -- they're kind of between chunks and crushed. Once I made the necessary changes (and this was sheer guessing) it was kind of fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2000
This wasn't the greatest dish I've ever made, but my husband ate it anyway. My 3 year old HATED it. I read the reviews and cut the ketchup in 1/2 and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt, but the ketchup flavoring is still overwhelming. Edible, but not worth making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This had to be the worst thing I have ever made for dinner. I wish I had read the reviews before making this slop. The cook time for the chicken was way too long. My chicken was extremely overcooked. This dish was also way to salty-- so much it burned my tongue! I have no idea how this got such a high rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2000
I didn't care for this recipe at all. You REALLY have to like the pinapple whith chicken flavor to enjoy it. I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2000
Very tasty, but I would limit basting time to 15 minutes and cook time to 30. Mine started to burn in the second basting. But very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2000
The only recipe on this site that we haven't loved. This was the worst thing I ever put in my mouth. We threw it out, then went out to dinner. With all the bad reviews, how did this get such a high overall rating?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
great combination of flavors
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2000
Cooking times are off--chicken was tough! And the ketchup and soy sauce mixture yielded a taste that was way too strong. Wouldn't recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2000
This is a tangy yet sweet dish.My kids didn't like it that well but I think it is a fairly easy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2000
I thought the recipe was great except I would have to agree with other's it was a bit salty I think by cutting out the garlic salt and adding garlic powder or minced garlic would take away that over bearing salt taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 163) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Tender Pan-Fried Chicken Breasts

They go from stovetop to oven, and come out super moist and tender.

Chef John's Chicken and Mushrooms

Make a delicious dinner with just two basic ingredients! Technique is the trick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States