Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
I add a 1/4 tsp of nutmeg, 1/4 tsp of cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract to get more flavor. Also, I bake 25 degrees lower with foil covering it so the crust doesn't get as tough. For time, just keep an eye on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
I would've given it a full 5 stars, but I did make some minor adjustments. I used whole-wheat flour, 1/2 cup sugar, 1/2 cup applesauce, added a teaspoon vanilla and threw in some chocolate chips. This is a great basic recipe that is easily tailored to suit your individual tastes. Not over-mixing the batter with these kinds of breads is important. So I mix the wet ingredients and sugar together, and mix the dry ingredients together in a separate bowl. Then I combine the two and mix until just moistened. I then fold in the bananas and chocolate chips. The consistency was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
It turned out perfect, I too made changes, I used 1/2 c. whole wheat flour,1 c unbleached all purpose flour, 1/2 c. organic cane sugar, 1/2 tsp. sea salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1 egg, 3 smashed banana's, 2 tsp. vanilla, 1/3 c. applesauce and 1/4 c. nuts. So it's still almost no fat - very moist with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newport News, Virginia, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I made this recipe twice. I reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup, increased the applesauce to 1/3 cup, added 1/4 t salt and a dash of nutmeg. I sprinkled brown sugar over the top before baking. It came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SherrieG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
This is a very good recipe! I followed some of the suggestions in the reviews and it's wonderful. I did add extra banana and applesauce (and added a few chocolate chips), and I used whole wheat flour instead of white flour. I made muffins instead of a loaf, and it was delicious! I used my 'paddle' attachment on my mixer so it didn't overmix everything, and they were moist, delicious and sweet- not rubbery at all. Thanks to the person who noted about using very ripe bananas- mine were very soft and the skins almost brown. I think that makes a big difference in how well they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth McDaniel Rogers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union Springs, Alabama, USA
Living In: Rutledge, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I added some flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Juneau, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
I've made this many times and everybody loves it. My brother, who refuses to eat low-fat most of the time, ate this entire loaf in one day. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I added raisins as well as honey and a splash of milk to replace the apple sauce and it tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
awesome! I love sweet treats that you can cut the oil/butter out of and not miss it. I replace 1/3 of the flour with whole wheat flour too for extra health benefits. Then I used one whole egg rather than the two whites. You can use closer to 1/3 c. applesauce, be generous with the bananas and conservative with the sugar. 3/4 c sugar makes it very sweet. 1/2 c. would still be fine. 1/4 tsp salt and 1/2 tsp vanilla would be good additions too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I have made this several times now and have enjoyed it each time. Great recipe!! I added a bit more banana, not for any other reason than I love the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 648) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

Discover the simple secret to moist, rich, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States