Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
This is awesome! Great flavor and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KimNJim427
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
I was impressed to the recipe did not include any oil or butter so I thought I would give it a try.. I doubled the recipe and used three egg whites plus one whole egg and added a teaspoon of vanilla. I also added a tablespoon of apple butter since my applesauce was unsweetened. It turned out well and was very moist and not rubbery in texture. I would make it again although I do prefer my regular full fat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I added a few chopped pecans, mashed 3 “small” bananas with my immersion blender, and used Truvia Baking Blend in place of the sugar. Baked in two 6”x3-1/2” mini loaf pans for 35 minutes. Many recipes that I’ve tried using applesauce as a fat replacement haven’t worked, but it REALLY works in this recipe. I’ve made many different banana bread recipes (many fat laden), and this one measures up to the best of them. It’s easy to make, very moist and tender, full of banana flavor, and pretty healthy. An excellent banana bread recipe that’s going into my Favorites folder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Loved it was some slight modifications. Being that I'm a bypass patient, I changed a few/added ingredients: whole wheat flour, Splenda instead of sugar and added one cup of raisins and 3/4 cup of sliced almonds. Took another's reviews and also added nutmeg, vanilla extract, extra cinnamon and extra baking soda. Increased apple sauce to 1.5 cups... Delicious! (I made a double batch!) my new favorite desert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by valerie
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
Excellent!!!! Very easy and taste amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Followed advice from reviews and made the following changes, used white whole wheat flour, 1 full egg, 2 large bananas, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/2 tsp of salt and did not over mix batter (by hand). Then baked for 50 minutes. Kids loved it just as much as the last recipe I made with bread flour and real butter. I think nuts would be delicious, but my kids don't do nuts in bread, just yet. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This is my first time substituting oil with applesauce. I mede mine as muffins as I don't have a loaf pan and they were ok/pretty good. The taste is difinitley compromised (not the same as using oil) but you can feel good about eating something a little better for you. My boyfriend loved them and wants me to make them again which I probably will. Giving this 4 stars because the recipie makes compromises to be healthier, otherwise would probably give it 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I followed Snapplemeblue's suggestions and it turned out delicious. I also added a 1/4 cup of some chopped walnuts. I would suggest cutting the almond extract to only a 1/2 teaspoon, I love almond extract but I thought it was a little overbearing for this recipe. The recipe as written is a good base, but I think you need to add the extras in order to get a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
As far as cakes with no fat go this was the bomb, additions were 4 chopped up medjool dates, vanilla and 2 tbs of yoghurt - fat free and omitted quarter of sugar and replaced with 2 tbs golden syrup or molasses. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2013
Definitely delicious! I actually did a variation and added sliced strawberries, and had to cook an additional 5 to 10 minutes since the strawberries add moisture to the bread. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 624) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States