Almost No Fat Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
Just took these out of the oven & they're pretty tasty, but not as cakey as expected. I mixed dry & wet ingredients separately, and combined gently & briefly - could be the 1.5 TBsp flax seeds I threw in (as I do w most recipes). I also cut sugar to 1/2 cup (brown only), mixed white with whole wheat flour, doubled cinnamon, and added salt & vanilla as per suggestions. I put choc chips in some, and 1/2 cup of chopped pecans in all: lovely! Will make again without flax, to see if this affects texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larsey McQuiggan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because I think with some minor adjustments it's perfect!! It needs a bit more cinnamon and even more banana! I used 3 smaller bananas and doubled the cinnamon. I used 1 whole egg and added some cinnamon chips (didn't have walnuts, or I would have added those). It was so good, my guests didn't even know it was low fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
Love this low fat recipe! I did not change a thing! I lost 165lbs eating a low fat diet and this is an awesome recipe for me :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I used 4 very-ripe bananas, 1/4 cup of brown sugar, and replaced the applesauce with fat free plain yogurt and a bit of vanilla extract. I also used 1/4 cup oatmeal, some wheat germ and 1/2 cup each of wheat and white flours. The result was extremely moist, not at all chewy (I blended wet and dry ingredients separately and then mixed by hand). Next time I'll increase the cinnamon and nutmeg and likely add some dried cranberries or fresh blueberries. Would be divine with some dark chocolate chips for a dessert bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ICHARUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Turned out shockingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Yuhnke
Home Town: Tonawanda, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jj
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I loved this recipe, I did add a few changes. I added nutmeg instead of cinnamon. I also added 1/4 tsp of salt. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This is my go-to banana bread recipe. I make the recipe exactly as it is written and then divide it into 12 muffins. (Each muffin is only 2 (old) Weight Watcher points - BONUS!!) Sometimes I put chocolate chips on the tops. My 3-year-old LOVES these and so do the rest of us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Eiler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Liked the suggestion to add a little vanilla or nutmeg to up the item here
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I loved it! Used 3/4 C whole wheat flour and 1/2 c oats instead of regular flour, halved the applesauce and egg, and added walnuts. Turned out wonderfully! Didn't have baking powder so I just used 1 1/2 tsp baking soda. Also didn't have just cinnamon so I used pumpkin pie spice in its place with a dash of ginger. I used a minimal amount of truvia instead of sugar and topped it with an almond greek yogurt frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
I have to say this is a great banana bread recipe. I thought about adding a little oil, but I am glad I didn't. Usually, my "healthy" banana bread recipes taste healthy. This one tastes moist and full of banana flavor! Give it a try. I made a few changes, as per prior reviews and personal preference: 3.5 bananas, 1/4 teaspoon salt, 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, 2/3 cup white sugar, 1 cup whole wheat sugar, 1/4 cup white sugar, 1/2 cup oatmeal, omitted cinammon
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 636) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Banana Bread

See the secret to baking moist, delicious banana bread.

The Best Banana Bread

Here’s a versatile banana bread for banana bread purists.

Janet's Rich Banana Bread

See how to make super-moist banana bread with concentrated banana flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States