Almost Heaven Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cranky Old Editor
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Add a generous tablespoon of mayonnaise (my elderly country aunt's go-to flavor enhancer for bland baked goods). Splash of vanilla and a tablespoon of table sugar sure don't hurt, either. Use half milk, half water and add a splash at a time. Don't overmix! Let cool! I use crunchy peanut butter and sometimes put a pinch of oats on top. They're pretty and don't spread much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I have been baking peanut butter cookies with this recipe for years! They do fall apart if you eat them while they're still hot, but once they cool they are just fine. I add a little extra touch to them during the holidays, by putting a Hershey's Kiss on top of them while they are still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super_Tall_Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
The most delicious, moist, and easy to make peanut butter cookies ever! During the Holidays I put an extra touch to them by adding a Hershey's kiss in the middle of them while they are still warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
These are great! They DO require some skill (and patience!) so I see why people have botched the recipe. You need to be careful when adding the water, very slowly, and do not overmix. Allow to cool for quite a while. They remind me of old-fashioned pie crust, with the pie included.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
the pie crust mix makes this cookie way too bland and tasteless. remove it from the ingredient list, as well as the water, and add an egg. and you have a nice healthy cookie. You can even refrigerate the dough for a spell, to make it easier to ball.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Great cookies! Was looking for an easy non dairy cookie and this is it. Used jiffy pie crust mix (9 oz ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
This were far from heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
This recipe is wonderful. It is very easy to make. The cookies came out looking and tasting great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
so-so. Too plain. Kinda boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I have to say these cookies turned out all right for me. I used a 9 oz box of mix, but the same amout of the other ingredients, slightly more water. And they were good, moist. They did fall apart if you tried to eat them right out of the oven, but let them cool, and they were fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States