Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
I LOVE egg salad, and believe it or not, I love tofu. Raw! Several months ago, I removed meat, cow's milk, and eggs from my family's diet (and by the way, I lost forty pounds after doing it!) so to find this recipe on this site just made my day! It tastes GREAT! I think it tastes exactly like the real thing! I can't believe I didn't try this sooner! Two thumbs way up, from me!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
Ok, this tasted so much like egg salad that my mostly-vegan children didn't want to eat it because they thought it was real! They said it tasted like the eggs grandma made them eat. Ha, ha. Really, that is a compliment as that is the aim of this recipe. We're not big on tofu so I'm glad to have another way to use it. My recommendations are to be sure you marinated for the required amount of time - the longer the better, and serve with lettuce and tomato if you're putting it on a sandwich or in a pita, or, as others have noted, serve it on a bed of greens. I think the texture needs that bit of freshness to brighten it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Ok, this does NOT taste like egg salad. That being said, it does taste GOOD. I make mine with chopped jalapeno instead of the pickle relish and I add a little extra mayo and some garlic powder too. Yum... good on a toasted english muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Doesn't taste exactly like egg salad, but has a good flavor on its own. I added a touch of cayenne for a little "zip." Tasted great on toast with sprouts and a slice of heirloom tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GaryL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I loved it! I didn't have all the ingredients (celery & onion), but it tasted great just the same. I am not a huge egg salad fan, because I don't like the taste of the yolk and tofu as a substitute gives me the testure of egg but without the yolk taste. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gabby Cantero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
Mmmm....this is really really good-I highly recommend it--its easy and very good for a low-calorie/low-cholesterol diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieMac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Reading other reviews that said people were fooled by this, I thought I'd give it a try. I have fooled my husband before with tofu "meatballs", and thought it'd be great to try again. He came home, saw that I had made egg salad & was so excited he grabbed a spoon & took a bite... only to immediately spit it out and express his profound distaste for it! I tasted it, and while if you know it's tofu, it's not so bad... you really should still be aware that it tastes nothing like egg salad, at least not the kinds of egg salad we eat in this house (which is just about any type!) Sorry to give such a low rating, but for us it just didn't work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookinRN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ravensdale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
This recipe is marvelously created great for weekday.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2007
This turned out amazing. My husband was heard telling my 18 month old that he should eat his egg salad(he didn't know that this is tofu:) )......and that confirmed for me ..........that the title of the recipe is perfect. Thanks a ton for a wonderful recipe. I was out of onion this time but I will add it when I make it next:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
This is really good. I did the basic recipe which is tofu, Dijon mustard, and soy-mayonnaise. Just a dash of salt and pepper. I put it on a toasted buttered bun - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by www.GlutenReport.com

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States