Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Great flavor! I made it just as written, and when I ate it, I put mayo and Dijon mustard on my bread, sprinkled a little garlic salt on the egg salad and put some sprouts on my sandwich as well... both my husband and I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I added some Hungarian paprika and increased the amount of mayo since a lot of folks said this was too dry. I like mine a bit on the sour/sweet side, so I added extra relish too. The texture is soooo much like egg salad, and although it doesn't taste exactly like egg salad, it tastes pretty good. Definitely eat this with toasted bread and sandwich fixings like lettuce, tomato, etc to get more of a sandwich feel. Eating this by itself, you have a greater sense of how it does NOT taste like egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I really had to have an open mind to eat this after making it because Ive only had tofu one other time at a thai restaurant, but it tasted pretty much like egg salad and I did finish the whole container I made in about 5 days. I am not a vegetarian, just trying to eat healthier. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Longmeadow, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I gave this a 4 because I thought it was a bit bland following the recipe exact. I added more relish and another tbsp of mayonnaise and it was perfect. It is definitely better if you chop up the tofu really fine. I had cubed tofu and I didn't like it until I minced it up really good. After that it was awesome!!!!!!!!! It tasted remarkably like egg salad. My husband who scoffs at tofu even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I am addicted to this stuff! For a completely eggless version, use Veganaise instead of mayonnaise. Also, I love to add cayenne pepper and minced jalapenos for an extra kick. I haven't had egg salad for over two decades, but even egg-lovers that tried my "egg" salad said it was close! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I would have preferred that the salad stay together more, but the important part is that this was the best tofu salad I have ever had and was very cheap to make. This is a real keeper! Thank you, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I love this recipe! I used veganaise instead of mayo and red pepper instead of celery...mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I tried to eat this, but it wasn't the same. The texture was almost there, but the flavor of the eggs was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
i felt that it needed a bit more vinegar and mustard (i used dijon), but it's absolutely delicious! very quick to put together as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I am not a vegan or vegetarian; however this recipe was great. I was looking to use of some leftover tofu I had and am so happy I came across this recipe. I personally don't think you can tell that there are no eggs in it. The flavors were wonderful and I even had everyone at work trying it. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States