Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I agree with SpecialK (Feb. 28, 2011); this truly is pretty darn close to the real thing. Although I liked it immediately after preparation, I found that the waiting time does improve the flavor. I have a "go-to" tofu egg salad recipe that I THOUGHT was pretty good until I made this. The ingredients' proportions are right on. I THINK what put it over the top was the real (Hellman's) mayo. Only two T. for the entire recipe..not a deal killer IMHO. My other recipe uses "fake" mayo. Fake is OK for some applications, but not particularly for a recipe that already reduces the cholesterol tally by a landslide. As usual, moderation is the key to a healthy diet. Jeninga75...try it with less or no turmeric if that ingredient is off putting, as it can be at times. I will be making this again:) Oh! and I like the idea of using it on toast (brioche?) Perhaps add a crispy leaf of lettuce? Hint: Use a pastry blender/knife to mash the tofu. Works like a charm:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Llano, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
Very good! Press the tofu for as long as you can - I think I let mine sit for several hours. I ate it on flatbread, drizzled with either mustard or sriracha (the sriracha was amazing)! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I used to buy eggless salad at Trader Joes until they discontinued it. This is as good and a whole lot cheaper. I don't like sweet salads, so I left out the sugar and the pickle relish.I also added 1/2 tsp.of dried chives to make it taste like I remember.Don't forget to thoroughly drain the tofu or you end up a soggy salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I neglected to see the part that told me to let it sit in the fridge. It was still good! I put it on homemade Amish Bread found on this site. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lea

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
You need to try this recipe! It is delicious. The flavors are spot on and - unless you are a fanatic about avoiding anything to do with tofu because you just have to have animal products - you will enjoy this immensely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
don't let looks fool you with this recipe because if you go by the way it looks you'll definitely miss out on a delicious treat FANTASTIC!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2012
Fooled my carnivorous family members! They were shocked that they ate something healthy and didn't even know it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Wow! REALLY good! My husband still does not know this is not real egg salad. I did try to sub the mayo with Greek yogurt as I have been very successful with that in the past, but it was an utter fail. Way too sour. So I did use real mayo, and I strongly recommend doubling the sauce, as the tofu soaked it all up and it was rather dry. I also only used 1/2 tsp of turmeric as I didn't know if that was adding to the bitterness. Skipped the dill & relish since we're not fans. Served on toasted English muffins. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by archie8kitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I'm not a vegetarian, but I have vegan family members, which is why I made this. The vegans loved it, and some of the non-vegans, too. They didn't know it wasn't "real" egg salad until I told them. I thought it was "ok," but I was little apprehensive making it (I don't often like what I make). Good alternative to the real thing, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States