Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2002
The hardest part about this recipe is waiting for all the flavors to meld. I let it sit 24 hrs, and when I took a bite--it was worth the wait. A truly great recipe and one that will go in my permenant file! I will also add that I chose to freeze my tofu and then squeeze out the excess moisture--giving the tofu a firmer texture...and then making the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I used firm tofu and didn't drain it, and this was still a great recipe! It reminds me more of Toby's Tofu Pate than eggless salad, but it is at a fraction of the cost- which I love! I added some paprika to it to get some more zing out of it too. ***update: adding one diced jalapeno and some extra paprika and chili powder makes a fabulous version of the spicy tofu pate that I now refuse to buy for $4 a pint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nymbus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2002
This was my first time delving into a tofu recipe. Maybe it was just me, but I thought this was awful! I threw it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
Substituted lemon juice for vinegar, honey dijon mustard for mustard and used some cayenne pepper and it tasted great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This should really be 4.5. For the record, I LOVE *REAL* egg salad, and I never used tofu in my own cooking before making this recipe. I'll hand it to Jill - this is pretty darn close to the real thing. It is absolutely critical that this recipe sit overnight (24 hours optimal) to let the flavors combine. I can't stress that enough. I ended up substituting curry for tumeric, white pepper for black pepper, and eliminating the sweet pickle. (I never put it in my regular egg salad anyway.) Also per my traditional recipe, I topped with paprika, and added two full stalks of celery and a half an onion. *AWESOME.* Thanks, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2002
I used to spend $2.00 to $3.00 dollars a pint for tofu egg salad at speciality markets. I can't believe how easy and delicious this recipe is. I add 1/2 tsp dry mustard and use soy mayo. I also use fresh parsley. I've been eating this everyday since I found the recipe. Especially good with spicy onion sprouts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I actually like the taste of this one better than the real stuff. I used silken tofu, capers, fresh dill, and 1/4 cup of vegan mayo. This stuff rocks!!! If you use vegan mayo, my nutritional calculator says that each serving has only 69 Cal and 2.8g of fat!!! Two BIG thumbs up for eggless salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Couple notes: if your salad was thin, you didn't drain the tofu enough. I slice mine in half, wrap it in cheesecloth, and set a plate with a 30 ounce can of [something] on it for at least 20 min, often longer. That way it's dry and crumbly and able to absorb the flavors better. We upped the mustard a lot, just out of preference, as many others have done with spice/heat. But the recipe as is is as simple as a basic egg salad, and just as good. My kidlet tried it right after I made it and loved it as-is, even before letting it meld for a few hours. This is a great protein-rich sandwich filling, perfect for school lunches. Oh, and we use Vegenaise, so it was completely vegan. This recipe is going in the permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2002
Delicious! I was skeptical while mixing up this recipe, But, much to my surprise it was fantastic! I stuffed it into a whole wheat pita & topped it off with broccoli-sprouts. Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
i am NOT a tofu eater but, in the spirit of getting healthy, i tried it....and LOVE it. You should definitely wait a day before eating as the flavors do need time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States