Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2004
This is great stuff! I've made several versions of this in the past, but this was a very good one. I don't like celery, so I just substituted more chopped (red) onion. The dill gave it a unique, refreshing flavor. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHESSA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gilford, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
What a great sandwich recipe. I didn't have time to wait the four hours for flavors to meld, and I thought it was great. Then when I ate the rest the next day, I thought it was REALLY great. My husband (who doesn't like tofu) went foraging in the refrigerator, and complimented me on the great "egg" salad. His jaw dropped when I told him it was eggless. He did ask me to make it again, though. This one is going to become a regular lunch for me. (And perhaps others as well!!) Thanks for a great vegan recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Very tasty, and good for the waistline!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2004
How tofurific was this? I loved it. I will make again and play with the spices next time. It seems like one of those where there are no right and wrongs with this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
I'm not a big fan of tofu, but when I had a pound of tofu at my disposal, I found this recipe. It turned out great -- especially because it has nowhere near the amount of cholesterol that "real" egg salad has. The only alteration to the recipe that improved it for my taste was using diced fresh onion and celery instead of the freeze dried or ready-minced varieties. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike "Tartags"

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Plains, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2003
I wasn't too impressed. I kinda had to wonder...those who said it tastes "just like egg salad"...have they ever actually HAD egg salad before?? It definitley wasn't the worst thing I've ever had...but it certainly was not egg salad. I guess I shouldn't be TOO surprised...it's made out of tofu :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2003
So quick and easy to make. I followed other reviewers' advice and let the flavors combine overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
Interesting! Easy to make. I think I'll try marinating the tofu in apple cider vinegar or some vinegrette before hand. I also added onion powder, garlic powder and I used a spicy dijon mustard. Let sit overnight to blend spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LILRED7

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ithaca, New York, USA
Living In: Taito, Tokyo, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2003
This is an excellent recipe! Tastes great, and the texture and appearance is almost exactly like ordinary egg salad. I substituted a yogurt and cayenne pepper combination for the mayo, and added some chopped green onion in with the usual white onion. Refrigerating it overnight seems to be best. It's good on a rye bread sandwich, with some sprouts and sliced onion. If you like spicy food as much as I do, sprinkle on a little cayenne pepper, too. I think I'll be making this often, it's great for lunch at work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2003
Very Good! I used a little extra relish, rice wine vinegar(in place of vinegar and sugar)& dijon mustard. It is best to refrigerate it overnight to get the ideal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States