Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I really had to have an open mind to eat this after making it because Ive only had tofu one other time at a thai restaurant, but it tasted pretty much like egg salad and I did finish the whole container I made in about 5 days. I am not a vegetarian, just trying to eat healthier. I might make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKY R

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmer, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chicopee, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I gave this a 4 because I thought it was a bit bland following the recipe exact. I added more relish and another tbsp of mayonnaise and it was perfect. It is definitely better if you chop up the tofu really fine. I had cubed tofu and I didn't like it until I minced it up really good. After that it was awesome!!!!!!!!! It tasted remarkably like egg salad. My husband who scoffs at tofu even liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I am addicted to this stuff! For a completely eggless version, use Veganaise instead of mayonnaise. Also, I love to add cayenne pepper and minced jalapenos for an extra kick. I haven't had egg salad for over two decades, but even egg-lovers that tried my "egg" salad said it was close! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I would have preferred that the salad stay together more, but the important part is that this was the best tofu salad I have ever had and was very cheap to make. This is a real keeper! Thank you, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I love this recipe! I used veganaise instead of mayo and red pepper instead of celery...mmmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Webb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2009
I tried to eat this, but it wasn't the same. The texture was almost there, but the flavor of the eggs was not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
i felt that it needed a bit more vinegar and mustard (i used dijon), but it's absolutely delicious! very quick to put together as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MODGEPODGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I am not a vegan or vegetarian; however this recipe was great. I was looking to use of some leftover tofu I had and am so happy I came across this recipe. I personally don't think you can tell that there are no eggs in it. The flavors were wonderful and I even had everyone at work trying it. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chino, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
This was AWESOME! One of the few AR recipes that are above a 5! Let it sit for hours and hours, and I say be generous with the crunchy stuff, more onion and celery. I thought it needed more creaminess, so I added 2 TB of plain yogurt...perfect. I'll try making it with all yogurt, no mayo next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
I actually like the taste of this one better than the real stuff. I used silken tofu, capers, fresh dill, and 1/4 cup of vegan mayo. This stuff rocks!!! If you use vegan mayo, my nutritional calculator says that each serving has only 69 Cal and 2.8g of fat!!! Two BIG thumbs up for eggless salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States