Almost Eggless Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I didn't like it. I've been looking for ways to make tofu dishes and thought this would be a nice lunch. I have yet to find a recipe that I can stand the tofu. It would be unfair for me to give a lower rating though because I LOVED the dressing. I will be using it for regular egg salad. I will probably leave the tumeric out next time, wasn't crazy about it's flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeninga75

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Augusta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
This should really be 4.5. For the record, I LOVE *REAL* egg salad, and I never used tofu in my own cooking before making this recipe. I'll hand it to Jill - this is pretty darn close to the real thing. It is absolutely critical that this recipe sit overnight (24 hours optimal) to let the flavors combine. I can't stress that enough. I ended up substituting curry for tumeric, white pepper for black pepper, and eliminating the sweet pickle. (I never put it in my regular egg salad anyway.) Also per my traditional recipe, I topped with paprika, and added two full stalks of celery and a half an onion. *AWESOME.* Thanks, Jill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brookfield, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Wonderful and really simple to throw together! I had some as soon as I made it and it tasted just as good as when I had some the next day when the flavors had the chance to set in. I left out the relish and used lemon juice instead of the vinegar. Thanks for this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupOfNina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Couple notes: if your salad was thin, you didn't drain the tofu enough. I slice mine in half, wrap it in cheesecloth, and set a plate with a 30 ounce can of [something] on it for at least 20 min, often longer. That way it's dry and crumbly and able to absorb the flavors better. We upped the mustard a lot, just out of preference, as many others have done with spice/heat. But the recipe as is is as simple as a basic egg salad, and just as good. My kidlet tried it right after I made it and loved it as-is, even before letting it meld for a few hours. This is a great protein-rich sandwich filling, perfect for school lunches. Oh, and we use Vegenaise, so it was completely vegan. This recipe is going in the permanent rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
I don't eat tofu but decided to try as was eating a vegetarian diet for a week and wanted something new to try. I thought this was awesome!! It has a great flavor and I followed recipe but left out relish as I did not have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fletcher, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
i am NOT a tofu eater but, in the spirit of getting healthy, i tried it....and LOVE it. You should definitely wait a day before eating as the flavors do need time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
My tastebuds were fooled! I had some leftover tofu in my fridge and was obsessing over what to do with it, saw this and was like "nooooo...", but it really is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krista Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
FOR EGGLESS SALAD use Veganaise! You won't know the difference. I don't use this particular recipe but my own because I like a bit of curry in mine. The concept is great and the taste is best when you let sit overnight so the tofu can absorb all the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Addison, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
Great flavor! I made it just as written, and when I ate it, I put mayo and Dijon mustard on my bread, sprinkled a little garlic salt on the egg salad and put some sprouts on my sandwich as well... both my husband and I enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bonita Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I added some Hungarian paprika and increased the amount of mayo since a lot of folks said this was too dry. I like mine a bit on the sour/sweet side, so I added extra relish too. The texture is soooo much like egg salad, and although it doesn't taste exactly like egg salad, it tastes pretty good. Definitely eat this with toasted bread and sandwich fixings like lettuce, tomato, etc to get more of a sandwich feel. Eating this by itself, you have a greater sense of how it does NOT taste like egg salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States