Almost Beau Monde Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
While this may be delicious in certain uses, if you are looking for the Spice Islands version of Beau Monde, this is not what you want. Spice Islands' own website states their seasoning is a blend of salt, celery and onion. I am giving this a 3 because it was the only way I could leave a review to let people know this, and, as I said, it may indeed be good for some things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2005
I didn't have the celery seed or mace, perhaps that what did it, but the cloves overpowered everything. Be careful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Wish I'd read this first. I agree that all you can taste is the overpowering chives! I had some Beau Monde purchased from Bulk Barn in Canada, but they don't sell it anymore. It was fabulous. Thankfully I have a tbsp of the original to compare the smell to. This was nowhere near it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I really don't like this seasoning combo and I had to buy some expensive spices to make it. Won't do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I added a teaspoon of ground cloves and allspice instead of the tablespoons called for, because they are the strongest spices. This mix is definitely great and woke up my palate! TASTY! Better than store bought. Added it to Bloody Marys and deviled eggs- NICE! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
I have been searching for beaumonde seasoning for years now since I can no longer find it locally, and don't have the means to buy online (i.e. credit card) and this is the same recipe I have found everywhere for it with the exception of one which did not include the bay leaf and one other ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverview, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made up this recipe and cut back on the ground cloves. As a seasoned cook it was easy to see that this would be way too much. This recipe is not anything like the Beau Monde you can buy in the grocery store. I was very disappointed in the results and had to buy a bottle of the real thing to compare. When you read the ingredients on the Beau Monde jar the ingredients listed are, salt, dextrose, onion and celery seed. I think the author of this recipe got the name of it confused with another seasoning. As I have to select a star rating I am selecting the lowest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I used this on Beef Tenderloin and Pork Chops. And they tasted great. I'll definetly do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this "Beau Monde" to use in a vegetable dip and the cloves, cinnamon and allspice were overpowering. Next time I'll pay the $6 and buy the real stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
This was much like the beau monde seasoning my grandma used to use. It brought back fond memories--Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States