Almost Beau Monde Seasoning Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This IS a Beau Monde, or Beautiful World blend of spices, and a good one. I am used to a slightly mellower, redder version and I figured out that an added tablespoon of Hungarian paprika to this recipe balances the whole thing out to my liking. Try it. If you are used to the Spice Island version be warned this recipe is nothing like that "blend" of salt, sugar(dextrose),onion and celery seed(and silicone dioxide, a flavorless mineral meant to prevent caking). But comparing that version to the real thing is like comparing Taco Bell hot sauce to a real Mexican salsa. Just the truth of the matter. I love this on salmon and red meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ryan Thornton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
I definitely agree w/all the reviews that said this does NOT have the same taste as Spice Island's Beau Monde seasoning. Since I have not been able to find this seasoning locally, I decided to give this recipe a try, mainly because it looked the same. I used the seasoning in my go-to Dill Dip for a family function. I'll continue searching for either the recipe or the spice in my travels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I leave salt out of this recipe and I cut back on the cloves and allspice a bit.. Linda
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
I made up this recipe and cut back on the ground cloves. As a seasoned cook it was easy to see that this would be way too much. This recipe is not anything like the Beau Monde you can buy in the grocery store. I was very disappointed in the results and had to buy a bottle of the real thing to compare. When you read the ingredients on the Beau Monde jar the ingredients listed are, salt, dextrose, onion and celery seed. I think the author of this recipe got the name of it confused with another seasoning. As I have to select a star rating I am selecting the lowest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
Made this exactly like the recipe, against my better judgement. It definately isn't the same as the Spice Island Beau Monde spice. This recipe has too much pepper and no onion. Won't make this again, next time I'm traveling, I'll look for the Spice Island brand since it isn't carried in my area.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I used this on Beef Tenderloin and Pork Chops. And they tasted great. I'll definetly do it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zurich, Zurich, Switzerland
Living In: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I added a teaspoon of ground cloves and allspice instead of the tablespoons called for, because they are the strongest spices. This mix is definitely great and woke up my palate! TASTY! Better than store bought. Added it to Bloody Marys and deviled eggs- NICE! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2009
I made this "Beau Monde" to use in a vegetable dip and the cloves, cinnamon and allspice were overpowering. Next time I'll pay the $6 and buy the real stuff
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
While this may be delicious in certain uses, if you are looking for the Spice Islands version of Beau Monde, this is not what you want. Spice Islands' own website states their seasoning is a blend of salt, celery and onion. I am giving this a 3 because it was the only way I could leave a review to let people know this, and, as I said, it may indeed be good for some things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Wish I'd read this first. I agree that all you can taste is the overpowering chives! I had some Beau Monde purchased from Bulk Barn in Canada, but they don't sell it anymore. It was fabulous. Thankfully I have a tbsp of the original to compare the smell to. This was nowhere near it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Taco Seasoning Mix

A simple taco seasoning mix that’s lower in salt than packaged mixes.

Fajita Seasoning

Turn simple spices into a flavorful fajita seasoning blend.

Restaurant-Style Taco Meat Seasoning

Tastes just like a popular restaurant’s seasoning mix for beef tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States