Almond Wild Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
I left out the cranberries (personal preference) but this was the perfect side dish for salmon... Yum! I've made it a few times now and I love it. No guess work involved, just perfect rice every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Delicious! I kept mine on the stovetop instead of baking it & it was done in less time. Also, used half craisin & half dried blueberries because I had them. I will definitely be making this again; husband, 2 small children and myself enjoyed it thoroughly. Might even add it to the Thanksgiving menu this year. Tonight we had it with grilled chicken thighs marinated in berry vinaigrette and a simple cucumber salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Loved it! Worth the time and effort. I used all wild rice too. Will try it with the mixed next time. Great change from plain rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I made this exactly as is except that i skipped the toasting of the almonds in butter. I already had toasted almonds on hand. I also added the salt and pepper to the raw rice before cooking. I liked the simplicity of this recipe and that the flavours were complimentary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This was okay. Will most likely not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
The whole family loved this! I didn't have cranberries so I used currants and it turned out fantastic! Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Ledge, Michigan, USA
Living In: Alpena, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made this for the first time for a dinner with friends and they all raved about it. So simple ! I served with Cornish hens. Wouldn't change a thing & will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Very easy to make & tasty. We both loved this! I prefer to make a recipe as written but I had to improvise a bit based on my pantry - using cashews instead of almonds. Working with only a 1/2 cup of dried cranberries, I added 2 Tablespoons of sweetened coconut (after sautéing the nuts) to make sure I had a good sweet balance. The nuts and the coconut worked well! [I worried it would be bland and added another T of butter (to make it 4 not 3). The extra butter was unnecessary.] Oh! I forgot to spray the pan but it seems ok (esp w my extra butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
This is a wonderful side dish. I didn’t have any slivered almonds so I chopped some whole almonds and cooked it the same. The dried cranberries add nice flavor. I recommend watching the baking time because an hour would have been too long for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
I really liked it, but my hubby didn't. In all fairness though, he doesn't like "fruit with food" (craisens) and actually, really prefers white rice. So, I'm taking his feedback with a grain of salt. I followed the recipe as listed other then using chopped almonds because I did not have slivered ones. I also sprayed the baking dish with a butter-garlic spray grease, but don't think that added anything to the flavor. I really liked the long hands-free baking time.....it gave me plenty of time to make the rest of dinner and relax a bit. It is a beautiful looking rice dish and I'll make the side again. I'll only 1/2 it next time....that will be more manageable for my family of 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States