Almond Thins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2002
My whole family loves these cookies, I have to make several batches at a time. I also love to give these away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cre8tive
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
I had fun making this delicious treat! And yes, the trick to spreading this batter/dough is room temperature butter. I only had salted butter, so I did not add any additional salt. (If i use salted butter next time, I will test adding a scant quarter teaspoon of salt.) It's also important to slowly stir, by hand, the "sifted" flour into the butter mixture -- until it is "just blended." The batter/dough is moist and spreads to the edges of the cookie sheet without first dipping the spatula into warm water. Take your time during this step because you want your yummy thins to bake evenly. On the very last pass, do as directed and dip the spatula into warm water to easily smooth out or fill in any rough spots. And don't worry if your spatula leaves lines because you will be pressing almonds into the batter/dough. Everyone who tasted them had one word: "mmm!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
After finishing a batch of greasy cookies that had 3/4 c of butter, I was reluctant to put the whole cup of butter into this recipe. I used only 3/4 c and they came out very good. My batter was not spreadable at all, that may be from cutting back on the butter. I flattened the dough between parchment paper (on the bottom) and wax paper on the top and used a rolling pin. Then I just peeled off the wax paper, transferred the batter on parchment paper to a cookie sheet, sprinkled the almonds and baked it all. This is such an elegant looking cookie for the amount of effort that it takes. "It's not a cookie, it's an almond thin." Thanks for a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
I give this recipe 5 stars, even though I had trouble with it! I bought some almonds at Sam's Club, so wanted to find a terrific recipe to use them in. I could not get this batter to spread, please give me the secret! I tried a spatula, icing knife, and a rolling pin. I ended up making rolled cookies out of them and pressed them out with a cookie cutter. I almost threw the second batch of batter away, but I poured about 3/4 cup of almonds onto the mound and kneaded it in prior to rolling them out. That worked even better! They turned out pretty and tasty. Great recipe for taste, but didn't work out according to the directions for me! thank you for sharing, Violet! I WILL make these again - rolling them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by waipeng
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
I followed the recipe as it is and would reduce the salt by half the next time I bake this again. The consistency was just right to spread with a spatula. I noticed that a lot of you mentioned you have problem with doing that as the batter was more like dough. I think the trick is to have butter at room temperature or soft to the touch before creaming it with the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2015
i tried it and loved it says the painter and dec part time baker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
These cookies taste great! They are not spreadable though, so I placed the dough in between sheets of parchment paper and smoothed out with my hands. Then lifted the top sheet and placed almonds on dough and pressed them into the dough with the top sheet. Then all I had to do was slide the bottom sheet with the dough onto the cookie sheet and bake! They are WONDERFUL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHUGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
I made a pecan variation of this recipe that I would have given 4 stars but didn't think I could because I changed it so much. First I added a little bit more sugar which not surprisingly made them too sweet. Also I used 3/4 cups of chopped pecans added right after the flour and ommited the almonds on top. I didn't know how much I was supposed to roll them out so I did as much as I could with the pecans. My family loved them but I wasn't really crazy about them. I think If I chopped the pecans more and added spices they would be really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Perfect recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Napa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
I used margarine and found the batter to be soft and easily spreadable. I kept the knife wet, and just scraped it periodically with a spatula. I baked them on a no stick pan, and mine burned from being on too low a shelf, but the few that didn't were perfect and the family loves them. So the only thing I'll change next time is to put them higher in the stove and watch more carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Almond Bear Claws

These magnificent bakery favorites are easy to make in your own kitchen.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States