Almond Squares II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These turned out great and were easy to make. They cut into squares nicely. I also used the almond filling instead of almond paste because it was more affordable. Perhaps the bars are a bit sweeter with the almond pie filling, than with the paste, but they still turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I made this to use up left over almond paste from another recipe. It was simple and yummy. I lined my pan with parchment paper, 2 inches above the rim to make handles. Then I remove the whole bar when cool and cut on a board. I also drizzled melted chocolate over for the holidays. Seems to freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cher
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This recipe was so easy and the end result was a perfectly moist almondy shortbread-like bar. They were perfect with a cup of coffee and they were gone in minutes at the husband's work! *I did use Almond filling in place of almond paste just because it was more affordable*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Love almonds! Overall, a good recipe; next time I would leave out the almond extract, and add 1/4 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wow, these were delicious!! Soooo good and soo easy to make. Love it. The only thing, is that a couple members of the family thought that even though they were delish, they were a bit heavy on the butter. Maybe will add a little less butter next time. I didn't notice that though. To me they were just perfect! thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I've made this recipe for years and co-workers request it for pot lucks. It's actually in an old Betty Crocker cookbook under "Danish Puff". My recipe calls for pecans instead of almonds, which I love. The recipe also calls for adding the 3 eggs all at once and mixing until the dough is smooth and glossy--like cream puff pastry. I changed the frosting a bit since it's the only sweetness. I use 2 to 2 1/4 cups powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons butter, 2-3 tablespoons of half and half, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon almond extract. I bake my puff at 350 for 50-55 minutes. The puff should expand and collapse after cooling. If the puff does not puff up a little, it tends to take on a hard texture, which may have happened to a couple of reviewers who did not like the texture. The texture should be soft and slightly custardly in the middle of the puff. It's absolutly devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These are very, very good. They kind of remind me of biscotti, but more moist. I recommend using two eggs rather than one- I did it by accident but I think it gave them a lovely richness. They keep well in the fridge and are excellent when paired with coffee. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I found these very fast to prepare. Baked as directed.I took another reviewers advice and drizzled melted chocolate on top with a pastry bag after I heated some seedless raspberry jam and drizzled that on top of the pre cut bars. These are so delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This was quick, easy and delicious! Makes a great brunch bar served with hot chocolate or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made these with white whole wheat flour and that may be why I found them a little crumbly and dry. I definitely waited too long to try to cut them; I would cut them while still slightly warm in the hope that they would cut into nice squares. The flavor was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States