Almond Squares II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These are very, very good. They kind of remind me of biscotti, but more moist. I recommend using two eggs rather than one- I did it by accident but I think it gave them a lovely richness. They keep well in the fridge and are excellent when paired with coffee. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2009
I made these with white whole wheat flour and that may be why I found them a little crumbly and dry. I definitely waited too long to try to cut them; I would cut them while still slightly warm in the hope that they would cut into nice squares. The flavor was very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
Wow, these were delicious!! Soooo good and soo easy to make. Love it. The only thing, is that a couple members of the family thought that even though they were delish, they were a bit heavy on the butter. Maybe will add a little less butter next time. I didn't notice that though. To me they were just perfect! thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
These turned out great and were easy to make. They cut into squares nicely. I also used the almond filling instead of almond paste because it was more affordable. Perhaps the bars are a bit sweeter with the almond pie filling, than with the paste, but they still turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heidihh1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Photo by Cher
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This recipe was so easy and the end result was a perfectly moist almondy shortbread-like bar. They were perfect with a cup of coffee and they were gone in minutes at the husband's work! *I did use Almond filling in place of almond paste just because it was more affordable*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Love almonds! Overall, a good recipe; next time I would leave out the almond extract, and add 1/4 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I made this to use up left over almond paste from another recipe. It was simple and yummy. I lined my pan with parchment paper, 2 inches above the rim to make handles. Then I remove the whole bar when cool and cut on a board. I also drizzled melted chocolate over for the holidays. Seems to freeze well, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHIQUITA2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2002
This was quick, easy and delicious! Makes a great brunch bar served with hot chocolate or coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-38 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States