Almond Squares II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Both my husband and I love almond flavor and this didn't disappoint! After finishing the last bite, my husband wanted me to make more! Reviewed 3/20/10 by BBBaker
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
This recipe is much better written as is. I tried the 3 egg thing. No one liked it that way. Try the recipe as is first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
How can you not give this a five star. Come on, it is devine! I read the reviews before making and thanks to Gloria for her suggestions. That's exactly how I made mine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I found these very fast to prepare. Baked as directed.I took another reviewers advice and drizzled melted chocolate on top with a pastry bag after I heated some seedless raspberry jam and drizzled that on top of the pre cut bars. These are so delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
These were good but not what I expected. Think I might have overbaked them a lttle so be careful. Also seemed better after a day or two. I will try them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Hyde Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Perfect! Thank for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tasha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Oley, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
great! I didn't add almond extract - used 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract instead. Buttery and great almond flavor. Several have already asked for recipe. I am making again for Christmas cookie exchange.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casablancaise
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Excellent treat for almond lovers. Very easy, fast and delicious. Thanks a lot for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
I've made this recipe for years and co-workers request it for pot lucks. It's actually in an old Betty Crocker cookbook under "Danish Puff". My recipe calls for pecans instead of almonds, which I love. The recipe also calls for adding the 3 eggs all at once and mixing until the dough is smooth and glossy--like cream puff pastry. I changed the frosting a bit since it's the only sweetness. I use 2 to 2 1/4 cups powdered sugar, 3 tablespoons butter, 2-3 tablespoons of half and half, 1 teaspoon vanilla and 1 teaspoon almond extract. I bake my puff at 350 for 50-55 minutes. The puff should expand and collapse after cooling. If the puff does not puff up a little, it tends to take on a hard texture, which may have happened to a couple of reviewers who did not like the texture. The texture should be soft and slightly custardly in the middle of the puff. It's absolutly devine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
These are very, very good. They kind of remind me of biscotti, but more moist. I recommend using two eggs rather than one- I did it by accident but I think it gave them a lovely richness. They keep well in the fridge and are excellent when paired with coffee. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States