Almond Shortbread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
added 1tsp almond extract- melt in your mouth delicious! These were EASY and Quick to both make and devour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
I added some almond extract and thought the cookies were tasty and light. I do understand what the person was saying about the cornstarch--I plan to cut back on the cornstarch to 1/2 cup and up the flour to 1 1/2 cup. For those who grind their own Almonds, don't grind it too fine for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Blah. I had high hopes for this recipe because of the almond meal, but I think the cornstarch gives them an almost dusty mouth-feel. I wouldn't waste your time with this; traditional shortbread is much better and simpler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2012
This recipe makes excellent cookies. You can vary as you please. I made the 'meal' by putting whole almonds in the blender. Then I mixed slivered almonds into the dough. I whisked all the dry ingredients together before blending with the creamed butter. These are the best shortbread cookies I've ever made. They'd be good with macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
If you like short bread you will love these cookies. The addition of the almond meal takes it to a wonderful new level. I didn't know what almond meal was so I took a half cup of whole almonds and whizzed them up in the Vitamix and turned it into flour. The recipe doesn't say when to add the almond meal so I added it with the flour. A really great short bread cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Lovely cookies! I have made these a couple of times. They would be perfect with afternoon tea but do well all on their own too. Just the right amount of nuttyness, nice texture and just a little addicting!! They taste even better after sitting a day or two and freeze wonderfully. Definitely a recipe worth keeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedApple

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
With the revised recipe to show the 1 1/8 cup of butter this recipe is outstanding! I have cookies very similar to these in bakeries. I might use almond extract as recommended by another reviewer, but it's light and buttery as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ruckersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
The amount of butter in this recipe is inadequate. When I made it using 1/2 cup butter, it was so dry I could not get it to stick together. I added another 1/2 cup butter and they turned out OK. I made it again, and used 1 1/2 cups butter; had to put it directly into wax paper, as it was too buttery to knead. They tasted great. What is the proper amount of butter? This could be a fantastic recipe. I also added almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States