Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I love shortbread cookies and this is one of the best recipes I've found. Instead of cutting the cookies out, I rolled the dough into logs (I had five logs about an inch in diameter with a double batch), covered them in Seran wrap and chilled them for a couple hours. Then I cut the dough into half-inch chunks (I got average of aboout a dozen to fifteen pieces from each log) and flattened them on a cookie sheet with the bottom of a glass covered in sugar. They turned out great! I also made up some of the Almond Butter Icing I found under the "Frostings and Icings" section -- the two together make a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
372 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
Outstanding! This recipe is simple and classic. Instead of struggling with a wooden spoon, I just used my electric mixer to do it all. First I beat up the cold butter, sugar and extract, then added the sifted flour and put the mixture on "stir." Those who said it was crumbly didn't stir it long enough. I took other reviewers' advice and used only 2 cups of flour. Also, I rolled it into a 2.5 inch log, chilled, then sliced the cookies 1/2" thick. They baked in my convection oven for 20 mins and were perfect! Soft and delish. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
203 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wayne, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This is a great shortbread cookie like I remember from Scotland. We make them and then sandwich them between almond frosting. Just make sure that the sugar and butter are very well blended because this is what makes them turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I am currently going to culinary school and needed a recipe for shortbread for a tableside cooking practical. Not only was this shortbread easy to work with, I topped it with powdered almonds and sugar and it came out exactly how I wanted. I think this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Just made these, followed other suggestions & cut flour to two cups, rolled thin & cut with 2 1/2" decoritive cutter. Dipped 1/2 in melted milk chocolate. They are wonderful. Will be making another batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This recipe made the easiest and best shorbread I've ever made. (It is much easier and better than the recipe I found in Martha Stewart Living last Christmas!) I made two batches this evening for holiday gifts. Instead of using Almond Extract, which I didn't have on hand, I used vanilla extract and lemon extract. In the vanilla shortbread I also added cinnamon. After pulling them out of the oven, I rolled the lemon shorbread in sugar and the vanilla/cinnamon in a cinnamon-sugar mixture. They turned out perfectly flakey and absolutely delicious. Don't worry if the dough is a bit dry and crumbly. It still turns out well. Just keep working it with your hands. Thanks, Robin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I am blown away. I have had the hardest time finding a good shortbread recipe, and this one takes it. all I did was substitute vanilla for almond extract, and add 1/8 cup brown sugar. perfect, works in pan form, and rolled into tubes and cut into cookies. very versitile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Wonderful recipe. The only thing I did different was I rolled into logs and sliced after chilling as others had suggested. Perfect...thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma Mick

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
These shortbread cookies are delicious! We ate them faster than we could make them. Too bad there are none left for Christmas baskets! Looks like I'll have to make some more, though I'll be doubling the recipe next time, too. I found that hands are an important tool in working with the dough. I kneaded in the last of the flour (the dough gets thick and stirring would be exhausting) and found that warming the dough a little with gentle handling prior to rolling between sheets of waxed paper kept the dough from being too crumbly roll out smoothly. These cookies have a wonderful flavor and texture and were super-easy to make. My husband loves them. Yum. I'll definitely make more throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FoodieWife
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
These cookie are outstanding. After carefully reading the reviews, I solved the whole dilemna about too much flour-- I used my Kitchen Aid Standmixer. At first, the dough was very crumbly, but I let the beaters do the work and then it all came together! I uploaded a photo of how I made these-- they are very delicious and a keeper. Thank you for sharing this recipe. I would not change a single thing...I photographed how I made these on my food blog.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monterey, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States