Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
I handed out these cookies in gift baskets for Christmas. Everyone wanted the recipe, it was their favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
Wonderful! I found this shortbread very mellow and tender, and the subtle almond flavor made it even better. I will be making this every year for my Christmas gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
This recipe made the easiest and best shorbread I've ever made. (It is much easier and better than the recipe I found in Martha Stewart Living last Christmas!) I made two batches this evening for holiday gifts. Instead of using Almond Extract, which I didn't have on hand, I used vanilla extract and lemon extract. In the vanilla shortbread I also added cinnamon. After pulling them out of the oven, I rolled the lemon shorbread in sugar and the vanilla/cinnamon in a cinnamon-sugar mixture. They turned out perfectly flakey and absolutely delicious. Don't worry if the dough is a bit dry and crumbly. It still turns out well. Just keep working it with your hands. Thanks, Robin!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
After I added all the flour, the batter was VERY crumbly and dry. It was hard to get them to stick together. Then, after I refrigerated it, the batter came back out so hard that any attempt to flatten it made it crumble. But the outcome was OK. I think maybe it would have been better with an egg though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
This is a great shortbread cookie like I remember from Scotland. We make them and then sandwich them between almond frosting. Just make sure that the sugar and butter are very well blended because this is what makes them turn out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
I love shortbread cookies and this is one of the best recipes I've found. Instead of cutting the cookies out, I rolled the dough into logs (I had five logs about an inch in diameter with a double batch), covered them in Seran wrap and chilled them for a couple hours. Then I cut the dough into half-inch chunks (I got average of aboout a dozen to fifteen pieces from each log) and flattened them on a cookie sheet with the bottom of a glass covered in sugar. They turned out great! I also made up some of the Almond Butter Icing I found under the "Frostings and Icings" section -- the two together make a great combo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
375 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
I am currently going to culinary school and needed a recipe for shortbread for a tableside cooking practical. Not only was this shortbread easy to work with, I topped it with powdered almonds and sugar and it came out exactly how I wanted. I think this recipe is fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
This was my first time making shortbread and this is by far the best and easiest recipe I've seen. The guys in my house made away with them in even shorter time thaan it took to make them. I'm already planning to double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
Awesome!! I used vanilla instead of the almond extract and added 3/4 cup pecans and then made them in crescent shapes. I plan to dip half of the cookie in chocolate. These were wonderful and so EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
These shortbread cookies are delicious! We ate them faster than we could make them. Too bad there are none left for Christmas baskets! Looks like I'll have to make some more, though I'll be doubling the recipe next time, too. I found that hands are an important tool in working with the dough. I kneaded in the last of the flour (the dough gets thick and stirring would be exhausting) and found that warming the dough a little with gentle handling prior to rolling between sheets of waxed paper kept the dough from being too crumbly roll out smoothly. These cookies have a wonderful flavor and texture and were super-easy to make. My husband loves them. Yum. I'll definitely make more throughout the year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States