Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made these as Christmas gifts for my neighbors. They were okay, but nothing to write home about. I probably won't make them again, as I'm looking for something with a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Excellent! EASY! Used an 8x8 pan and baked 30 minutes on 300 degrees. I used salted butter and added 1/2 teaspoon salt with the sugar and butter. I whipped the butter/sugar/salt/almond flavoring combination for about 3 minutes. In keeping with other reviewers, I used my mixer for the whole recipe, adding the flour gradually while my mixer was on "stir." Glazed with royal icing on the bias of the cookie and sprinkled with crushed almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teressa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellbrook, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
Delicious cookie; not sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These cookies really do "Melt in your mouth"! Plain and simple with a wonderful flakey texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manor, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ellwood City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
Made 5X the recipe for Christmas gifts and turned out excellent, though not quite as moist as some shortbread that I have had. Definitely learned my lesson about leaving dough in the fridge over night! 2 hours is plenty long enough I am sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
This cookie is awesome! Gave to 3 friends for gifts and all asked for the recipe. I used only 2 Cups of Flour, indented the top, put in a sliced almond in half of the cookies and left the others plain. Then, when they came out of the oven and cooled a bit, I sprinkled with a mix of cinnamon and sugar. Be sure to leave in refrigerator only two hours. Many thanks, Robin! You and your cookies are the BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Absolutely can not be made with the amount of flour listed. I even did what one person said and worked on that dough for 15 minutes. I had to form the cookies in the cookie cutter instead of actually rolling out the dough and cutting it. Made another batch with 2 cups of flour and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Husband really liked these, but niece did not (she's quite picky). I never had a chance to try them. Did not have almond extract, so I used vanilla instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Willard, New York, USA
Living In: Romulus, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
This recipe is absolutely perfect. My kids LOVE them! I've made this shortbread for all the cookie exchanges, school festivities, gifts for friends, and they were a huge hit. One reviewer said it was too much flour, but I haven't had a problem with that. I use my Kitchenaid and just mix it until it makes a big clump. You can put it in the frig for a couple of hours, or a couple days. Just give it time to warm up a bit and get malleable if it's more than a few hours. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Stone

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley View, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
These are so good. I wish I would have read more reviews before making them though. You really do need to cut the flour to 2 cups, or add more butter, I ended up adding more butter. I did roll them into logs, like others suggested, chilled them and then sliced and baked. My logs were about 1 1/2 inches in diameter and were done in about 12-14 minutes. I will be making more tomorrow to give away with the rest of my baked goodies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States