Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
One of the best recipes for shortbread I have found. I did not roll out the dough and use cookie cutters. I rolled into 2 logs and put in the refrigerator for 2 hours, sliced , sprinkled with colored sugar and did not flatten. It took about 23 minutes to bake but when they came out of the oven I couldn't wait to try them. OMG I couldn't believe how good they were, melt in your mouth good. So easy to make and soooo good, it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I didn't have almond extract so I used vanilla extract and added slivered almonds on the top. I do like this recipe but as others have said it is a little dry. I ended up using 2 cups of flour instead of 2 1/2 like someone else said and it's still quite dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
This recipe did not go well at all. I followed the directions exactly for ingredients, mixing, chilling and rolling... the only thing I did differently was divide the dough in 3 parts instead of 2 to prepare for rolling (3 parts = 1 dozen each) The dough tasted pretty good before baking. The almond extract was light and the PERFECT amount for just a hint of almond. The was SOOO hard to roll out. I divided my dough into 3 rounds to prepare for rolling, and by the time the center was the right temperature for rolling, the edges were melting from all the butter. I made these separate from all of my other cookies this year, because I didn't want the kitchen to be hot from the oven going while I was rolling something with so much butter... it didn't help. The few cookies I did get to come out were horribly dry and crumbly, and the sweet almond-y flavor from the dough was gone. Dusting with sugar did not help, because they were so dry nothing would stick. It is unlikely I will attempt these again--too much experimentation to get it "right" is effort better spent trying other recipes. Cutting the flour, increasing the sugar, rolling in powdered sugar... these all might help. These might work for you if you live in an extremely humid but very cool climate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
Lovely, lovely lovely!! Wonderful taste and texture, made these especially for my daughter with my regular Christmas cookies and she will adore them!! Thanks for a great recipe Robin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
These taste wonderful but the dough is SO dry - even for shortbread, so it made it really difficult to roll out and shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alison.allen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This was a super easy, fantastically tasting shortbread recipe! I followed the recipe as written and my entire family loved it. We will be adding this one to our list of favorite homemade cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
Delicious! We added a little extra almond extract because we love that flavor. Per others suggestion rolled dough into tubes and refrigerated. Ended up making the next day and cut into slices. These cookies do not spread out, FYI. Tasty morsels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
my kids and i loved these cookies!!! so simple yet so delicious!!! i added a tsp extra of the almond extract. i didn't have any problem at all with the dough. it was easy to work with. i followed the advice of other reviews by rolling the dough in a log, refridgerate and slice them a 1/2inch apart. before slicing, i rolled the entire log in colored sprinkles. i will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
These cookies are so wonderful!! I used a mixer and didn’t refrigerate the dough before rolling it out. They are so delicious!! My two little cuties are gobbling them up faster than I can make them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
I made these as Christmas gifts for my neighbors. They were okay, but nothing to write home about. I probably won't make them again, as I'm looking for something with a wow factor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States