Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
These cookies tasted good, but I had to add another 1/4 cup of butter to bind everything and I set them for 25 min and most of the first batch burned. I will try again as it was my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Instead of white granulated sugar I use confectioners sugar...Instead of 2 1/2 cups of flour, I use 1 1/2 cups of flour and 1/2 cup of cornstarch (total 2 cups)...the cornstarch makes it melt in your mouth and more delicate..I also add 1/4 tsp salt...and I use either vanilla or almond extract....sometimes both!...these cookies are very addicting and I have had many raves at cookie swaps.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Made this using brown sugar instead of white sugar. Made a great recipe awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
These were really great. We fought over them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
Amazing recipe even with my blunders! The only things I did differently were: 1) I substituted the almond extract with vanilla because I didn't have any almond extract. 2) Rolled the dough into logs before chilling and cut up afterwards. 3) I accidentally put only half the butter in and only realized it after I had added the flour. I added the rest of the butter and it still turned out great! Chopping up the butter into small cubes and letting it sit at room temperature for a few minutes made it easier to whisk together as well. Great basic and very yummy shortbread cookie. Thanks for posting!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
What a marvelous sugary treat! I like to coat my cookies in white sugar after taking them off the baking pan. I also don't bother with using cut outs, that takes forever. Just drop the dough on the pan as though baking choco chip cookies, and they are just fine. I also don't bother tinkering with this recipe. Made it "as is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nefertiti381

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clifton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
i made this one and omg it was amazing A pluss
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
A very good basic recipe that should be a basic in any recipe collection. Excellent flavour. Possible to ring changes - leave out the almond essence and use orange, lemon, vanilla. Make them thinner and sandwich two together with a chocolate or vanilla buttercream. Additionally, would make an excellent strawberry shortbread with the addition of fresh strawberries and whipped cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Delicious! Made these for my brother as shortbread is his favorite. Dipped some in chocolate and they were a hit. I rolled into a log and sliced chilled dough instead of rolling and cutting. Would defininetly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kings Park, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Made these cookies following the ingredients exactly. Used my KitchenAid stand mixer as other reviewers suggested and had absolutely no problem with texture of dough. Rolled into logs, refrigerated overnight, let sit out for just a little until slightly softened and sliced into circles. I topped half with granulated sugar prior to baking and left the others plain. Once baked, I dipped the plain cookies halfway across with melted white chocolate and then sprinkles. Absolutely delicious - perfect amount of crispness. Everyone loved them. Will definitely make again and again.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States