Almond Shortbread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
great tasting shortbread but not the easiest to work with. i am making four batches of star shaped cookie lollipops right now. i will dip in white chocolate and decorate with colored royal icing. what i learned: too crumbly. i ended up having to get the dough to stick together by sprinkling a little water on the dough. i used less flour in subsequent batches. i prefer the taste of almond extract in shortbread. i probably would not roll and cut into shapes if i wasn't making for friends. probably an easier recipe if i just press into pan, prick with fork, and cut into wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
Yummy, easy recipe. My mother is a shortbread cookie lover and rated these 5 star. My sister is also an accomplished baker and loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
These cookies didnt turn out as well as I thought they would. They didnt melt in the mouth, in fact the dough was rather dry using only the 1 cup of butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
These are hard to make. The dough was so dry and hard as a rock. I made as stated with no changes. If I were to make again, I would use less flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Riverton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Just made these, followed other suggestions & cut flour to two cups, rolled thin & cut with 2 1/2" decoritive cutter. Dipped 1/2 in melted milk chocolate. They are wonderful. Will be making another batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Menasha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2005
My mom made theese every Christmas and has always been my favorite cookie. She used green food coloring to make them green and used a flower shaped cookie cutter but theese ate it. I've been looking for the recipe for a long time, so thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
Really melt-in-the-mouth when fresh out of the oven. I had to bake them at a slightly lower temperature than mentioned otherwise they got cooked too fast (within 10 mins). The cookies are nicer if they're thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
I am blown away. I have had the hardest time finding a good shortbread recipe, and this one takes it. all I did was substitute vanilla for almond extract, and add 1/8 cup brown sugar. perfect, works in pan form, and rolled into tubes and cut into cookies. very versitile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2005
Tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Yummy! I think I'll try them with vanilla extract next time for a change like other posters have suggested. This is a really good recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States