Almond Sauce Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by CuppaTeaGirl
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This was a very nice, different chicken dish. I did some "health-ing" up with the recipe, and it turned out fine: only used butter (no oil) to brown chicken; used light cream instead of heavy cream. I also omitted mushrooms and onions, but that's only because I forgot to buy them this week. I think the mushrooms would have been a nice touch; maybe not the onions so much. Some tips: --Process/blend almond paste before adding to pan. It will melt faster and more evenly into the cream mixture. --Cover your baking dish with foil before baking; I didn't, and some of the cream sauce ended up browning and sticking to the dish, making it very hard to clean. Or, you could line the dish with foil before putting in chicken. --I don't see a huge need to brown the chicken before putting it in the oven. The heat from the oven browned the almond crust better than the butter, so you will still get the same appearance if you skip the frying in butter step. I served this with cinnamon vanilla mashed sweet potatoes, which were the perfect compliment to the almond flavor of the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CuppaTeaGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wayne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
VERY sweet though so if you aren't up for that, not your chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by auds1162

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adrian, Michigan, USA
Living In: Middletown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Truly delicious, my husband loved it! I did not have almond paste on hand so instead I used almond butter which gave the sauce a heavier, creamier consistency. Next time, if I opt to use the almond butter I will use half and half instead of the heavy cream to make a lighter sauce. I did not find the preparation of the recipe at all difficult and contrary to comments from a couple of other reviewers, I had no problems with the almond crumbs adhering to the chicken nor did I experience any burning or charring of the almonds. I will certainly prepare this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
At first I gave this recipe a 3 because it was bland, overly rich and the nutmeg was too strong. But the next day the leftovers were so delicious that I had to change the rating to a 4. To sear the breasts so they are juicy, I used peanut oil with 2 tbspns butter to keep the flavor. I constantly nudged the pieces so the almond crumbs didn't fall off, and cooked on high for 2 minutes each side. The butter/oil mix from recipe will just burn on high heat. The egg wash was really watery, I used 1/4 cup water with 2 eggs, I added 3 or 4 big coves of garlic and some salt to the mushroom/onion mix. I highly recommend adding dry red wine or liquor to the cream sauce, as well as 1/4 tspn salt. The grit of the chopped almonds bothered me, so next time I'd try putting some almond extract in the egg wash, lightly flour the breasts, then top the dish with toasted almond slivers upon serving. I served with chopped cauliflower and carrots sauteed in olive oil and garlic. My husband gives this recipe a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Had high hopes but was disappointed. Chicken was dry, sauce needs other spices to balance the almond, and really, two cups of almonds was waaaay too much-complete overkill. Tried to improve it with some spices, but needs serious adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This tasted so-so, and is certainly NOT worth 1100 calories and almost 100 grams of FAT!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westford, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Ok, not great, a little too much chopped almonds, should have something more to coat than just the almonds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
A really good recipe. A little complicated and takes some time to pull together but worth it with the end result being a well received dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
I agree that the almond paste was just too much. I didnt use onions because I am not an onion fan and I think they ruin everything they touch but the chicken and mushrooms were great with the cream. If I make this again I will not use almond paste. Maybe a bit of almond extract would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This was awesome and was so juicy. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States