Almond Sauce Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
While I am new to cooking I found this recipe easy and it tastes great. Use about 1/2 the almond paste and don't have the pan too hot when you cook the breasts. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2000
Such a good boneless chicken recipe. A nice different touch. I had to substitute flour and almond extract for the almond paste, still turned out very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I combine this recipe with the amaretto chicken also on the site. i follow this recipe to step 3. then i use i cup heavy cream, 1 cup shredded gruyere cheese, and 1/2 a cup of amaretto and melt on the stove top. then i pour this sauce over the chicken and put in oven at 350 for 40 minutes. i serve it with linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2001
I made this for Valentines day dinner for my new BF 3 years ago. It got Rave reviews; and were still together :o) Since I was traveling to dinner I chopped everything up ( onion, almonds, butter pieces) and put in containers and cooked the chicken and did the mixing at the house. But It was really Easy and WONDERFUL. It was just as wonderful a few days later for lunch. May be too flavorful or "wierd looking for kids"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
A very good chicken dish. I used a lot less almond paste than the recipe called for and it came out wonderfully with a light flavor. Was a pleasure to make and enjoy with my husband who like it as well. A good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
At first I gave this recipe a 3 because it was bland, overly rich and the nutmeg was too strong. But the next day the leftovers were so delicious that I had to change the rating to a 4. To sear the breasts so they are juicy, I used peanut oil with 2 tbspns butter to keep the flavor. I constantly nudged the pieces so the almond crumbs didn't fall off, and cooked on high for 2 minutes each side. The butter/oil mix from recipe will just burn on high heat. The egg wash was really watery, I used 1/4 cup water with 2 eggs, I added 3 or 4 big coves of garlic and some salt to the mushroom/onion mix. I highly recommend adding dry red wine or liquor to the cream sauce, as well as 1/4 tspn salt. The grit of the chopped almonds bothered me, so next time I'd try putting some almond extract in the egg wash, lightly flour the breasts, then top the dish with toasted almond slivers upon serving. I served with chopped cauliflower and carrots sauteed in olive oil and garlic. My husband gives this recipe a 5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I was not impressed with this recipe at all. After baking the sauce was a grayish color and didn't give the dish enough flavor. If I try this recipe again I will try making it without baking the sauce with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
Very good dinner - had to make my own almond paste, but still an easy recipe! Make sure you're hungry because it's filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2001
This recipe took me much longer than the 40 mins that the recipe describes. It was very difficult to coat the chicken in the almond crumbs and then brown the chicken without the crumbs falling off and then burning black in the pan. I probably won't ever cook this again. Once it was done, however, it was quite tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I was quite dissapointed! The almond coating did tend to burn and I did the chicken in two batches to avoid the scorched taste. But the BIGGEST problem is the almond paste, which has a sweet taste. It totally ruined the whole dish. It should definitely be omitted. The onions, mushrooms, chicken and cream were great, but I will never make this again with the almond paste. Also, it might taste just as good to dredge the chicken in flour, and just add some toasted almonds to the dish before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States