Almond Sauce Chicken Breasts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I combine this recipe with the amaretto chicken also on the site. i follow this recipe to step 3. then i use i cup heavy cream, 1 cup shredded gruyere cheese, and 1/2 a cup of amaretto and melt on the stove top. then i pour this sauce over the chicken and put in oven at 350 for 40 minutes. i serve it with linguine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longwood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
I was quite dissapointed! The almond coating did tend to burn and I did the chicken in two batches to avoid the scorched taste. But the BIGGEST problem is the almond paste, which has a sweet taste. It totally ruined the whole dish. It should definitely be omitted. The onions, mushrooms, chicken and cream were great, but I will never make this again with the almond paste. Also, it might taste just as good to dredge the chicken in flour, and just add some toasted almonds to the dish before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
This was steller. I usually find chicken breasts to be bland, but when prepared with this recipe they are delicious. I used fresh green beans cut in half lengthwise instead of onions because I didn't have any onions. It added a nice texture to the dish and some pretty color. I also didn't add any water to the egg and as a result I didn't have any trouble getting the almonds to stick. I didn't use almond paste in the cream topping either. I just prepared the cream with spices as directed and added a little flour to thicken it. I had some trepidations about pouring this on top of the chicken/mushroom/greenbean portion, but it turned out delicious and I'm glad I did. I highly reccomend this yummy dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2004
I made this dish for my wife and we loved it. The only variation was I did not include the paste as this was a meal I decided to try last minute. I cooked the chicken for approx. 25 minutes due to the breast size. The chicken was juicy and had a nice taste with the blend of mushroom, onions, almonds and the cream sauce. We both enjoyed this dish very much and will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2004
I was very disappointed in this recipe. It requires a lot of prep. I agree that it was difficult to get the almonds to stick. A good deal of the almonds were left in the pan to burn while cooking the onions and mushrooms. The chicken came out looking a very unappetizing gray color and was very dry. I cooked in the oven for 40 min. as indicated. Maybe I cooked to long in the pan. There was very little sauce even though I doubled it and it was very sweet and didn't go well with pasta. Sorry, but I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RaisinKane aka Patti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Damascus, Oregon, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I was not impressed with this recipe at all. After baking the sauce was a grayish color and didn't give the dish enough flavor. If I try this recipe again I will try making it without baking the sauce with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
While I am new to cooking I found this recipe easy and it tastes great. Use about 1/2 the almond paste and don't have the pan too hot when you cook the breasts. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2001
Very good dinner - had to make my own almond paste, but still an easy recipe! Make sure you're hungry because it's filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
A very good chicken dish. I used a lot less almond paste than the recipe called for and it came out wonderfully with a light flavor. Was a pleasure to make and enjoy with my husband who like it as well. A good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
I love almonds, however I didn't care for the taste of this recipe at all. The almond taste (I think because of the paste) was far too strong. I wouldn't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Prosciutto-Wrapped Stuffed Chicken Breasts

It may look worky, but this elegant meal is surprisingly easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States