Almond Sandies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2013
These are some of the best cookies I have ever made. I really like the way they turned out even though I don't really care for almond extract because to me it's got a really fake taste. I do use the almond extract but I also throw in about 1/2 tsp. of vanilla extract. Totally yummy...and HIGHLY addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy of Five

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
I screwed up the recipe and they still came out great. (I meant to replace 1/2 the butter with applesauce - well I did but then added another 1/2 cup of applesauce by accident so the there was an apple-almond flavor.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Followed directions exactly and these turned out so good! They are so simple and fast. Would make them again in a heartbeat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
Made these cookies today and they are delicious! I used margarine instead of butter and still had good results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karena

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dyersburg, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
I've been looking for a good almond cookie recipe and after many tries, this is it! The secret here is using butter. The organic almond extract helped, but it would have tasted great with good old MCormick's, too. Keep that oven low, as the recipe states, that's what gives the cookies the pale golden color and the sandy texture. The person who had trouble making the dough come together either used too much flour (measure carefully) or did not beat it long enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2009
I don't know if the recipe failed me or I failed the recipe. I had tasted sandies before and they were so moist. Just like eating butter. These ones turned out so crispy. It was almost like the butter and sugar separated. The only thing I can think of is that my oven is too hot. Grateful if anyone has any tips on why these turned out so crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
okay i didnt have almond extract so i used vanilla extract and they were still DELICIOUS! when i have almond, im gonna try it like that. Of course, im 13 so maybe they were only good because they had sugar in them (jk jk)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
This was delicious despite all the substitutions I had to make. I ran out of butter so I used a combination of butter-flavored shortening and margarine. I also ran out of granulated sugar, so I used splenda for baking. They were moist and cakey instead of crispy, but they were still amazing. Also, I zested a small orange and put a half cup of dried cranberries in the cookies. I definitely recommend doing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
These cookies are delicious!! Simple to make and taste wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States