Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
I made this tonight and my husband and I LOVED it! I tried this recipe as I've been receiving Rhubarb through my farm share and I'm sick of making strawberry/rhubarb tarts and pies. In an effort to cut down on the fat/calories I did substitute 1/2 oil with 4 tbsp. of Greek Yogurt (I didn't have any applesauce handy) and used 1% milk (although recipe doesn't specify what type). It was definitely moister and didn't look like the picture (the topping melted into the coffee cake) but we still thought it was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
Excellent. Added an extra tsp of baking soda, placed it in a greased cake pan and baked it 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
I used Splenda Brown Sugar Blend and Splenda White Sugar Blend instead of the real sugars and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Char Smits

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
This was fabulous! Normally I rate a recipe as it is written but with the reviews leaning in favor of 3 cups Rhubarb I made mine accordingly. Then I used fresh ground soft wheat, 1/2 cup kefir w/ 1/2 cup milk, 1/3 c applesauce w/ 1/3 cup melted butter (I don't use vegetable oils). 1 cup sugar was wonderfully sweet, no need for more here. Added a tsp cinnamon. No almonds in the cake but doubled the topping. Cooked in a stone bundt pan then realized the almonds would be on the bottom LOL, next time I'll use a spring form to keep those pretty almonds on top. Really appreciated the reviews on this one. I'm sure it's truly delicious as written also. Thanks Neris for sharing this "Mom PLEASE make this again" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5COOKIEMUNCHERS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyndeborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
This was awesome!! I made more topping for each cake and added a sprinkle if cinnamon to it. Also added 1/2 tsp of almond extract after reading some of the reviews. Everyone loved this cake. Even my husband who does not care for rhubarb. I will make again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was quite divine. Easy and moist (with four cups of rhubarb) and classy. A winning recipe. Thanks for making me look good for my guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
Checked many sites, this one stood out, as previous cooks were able to adjust so many ways to their liking! I made in the bundt pan and added 3 full cups of rhubarb. Coked for 55 minutes @350. Once cooled, I drizzled icing made with amaretto and it is delicious! I ate two pieces, my husband ate FOUR, yes ladies - 4! Very nice flavour, moist and would maybe add more topping next time. When I served a piece to my son, my husband kept swipping the topping off my sons' piece! Excuse me while I get another piece - ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
The cake came out perfect. I used walnuts because I didn't have almonds at home. All my friends like it also because it wasn't to sweet. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jbwicky
Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I harvested my Rhubarb last night and started poking around the internet see what kind of coffee cake I wanted to make with it. This was so easy to make and delicious, I also had everything I needed already in the pantry. My husband is gluten intolerant so I subbed the wheat flour with Gulten Free Mama's Almond Flour Blend and added a 1/4 tsp of Xanthan Gum and kept the rest of the ingredients the same. I also made muffins rather than 2 rounds because I didn't have 2 round pans, and baked for 25 minutes. They turned out perfect, literally perfect. So delicious, I will be making these again this summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jbwicky

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brighton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Couldn't taste the rhubarb, but, the cake was delicious non the less! Will be making again next time we get fresh rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colin Johnson

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States