Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
I doubled this to make four cakes (I have a lot of rhubarb). I didn't put the almonds in the cake just on top. Probably used about 4 cups of rhubarb. Very good cake but I would have liked it to rise a bit more but I'm putting that down to the fact that I doubled the recipe. As long as my rhubarb keeps growing I will be making this. Many thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
This is SO delicious!! I followed the recipe exactly as written, and I just loved it. It's too bad I'm on weight watchers or I probably could have eaten an entire cake, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
I was not impressed with this recipe. However, I rhubarb was not in season and I had to use raspberries. It lacked flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
We loved this. Cut the recipe in half to make one cake and didn't add almonds to the batter - just extra for the top. I think it was the almonds that made it so great for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2005
This was really good. I made a batch and a half and used one 9-in pan and one 11-inch deep dish pan. The bigger one took about an hour in the oven and came out perfect. The almonds were the best part...they tasted like pralines with all the butter and sugar baked on them. I added cinnamon to the batter and the topping. I wasn't sure if it was a typo or deliberate, but rhubarb coffee cake with no cinnamon??? I don't think so. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
Made exactly as written - easy enough but average coffee cake recipe. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elizabeth, Colorado, USA
Living In: Brighton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2005
I also added 2 1/2 cups of rhubard and ommitted the almonds from the cake batter. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Like others I found this an easy cake to make and irresistible when cooked. I did change the almonds for walnuts as I love them also added 3 cups of rhubarb and an extra teaspoon of baking soda. Again like a lot of others I didnt put the nuts into the mix but only ontop and added extra. I also poured the mix into a 11 inch cake tin lined with greaseproof and baked for 45 mins it was perfect. Will use this time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Llanidloes, Montgomeryshire, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
Very tasty. Be sure to brown the slivered almonds in the oven before using them. I microwaved the rhubarb to soften it, and then squeezed out the water, before adding it to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
We really enjoyed this cake. I used just 2 T oil and 5/8 c applesauce to reduce the fat and calorie count. I also replaced the vanilla with almond extract and added a few extra drops to the topping. I also baked in a sheet cake pan instead of rounds. No adjustment was needed on bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States