Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is my favorite coffee cake. The whole family loves it! It freezes well, so you can eat one and save one for another time. I've tried a lot of rhubarb recipes from this site, (it's the one thing that will grow in our garden) and this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was delicious. I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil since I was all out and added a dash of nutmeg and a dash of cinnamon. The amount of rhubarb was perfect in the recipe, not to much, not to little. I love nuts of all kind, and I personally would add more almonds on the top when I made this again! I would definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Our whole family loved this! I did substitute almond extract for the vanilla and apple sauce for half of the oil, but otherwise followed the recipe. It needs about 10 more minutes baking time if you use a 9x13 pan instead of 2 9" round pans (which I didn't have). Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
Great recipe. Everyone who has tried it in our family loves it...even the ones who hate rhubarb have requested seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. I had to use frozen rhubarb because it was not available fresh at my grocery store. This did not bring the recipe down though. I ended up with two beautiful cakes that I was proud to share. The flavor and texture is even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
I used half whole wheat flour and chopped, slivered almonds (all I had). I found the recipe quite bland, I prefer alot more flavor. I would say it needs at least double the rhubarb.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherwood Park, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
I like this recipe with 3 cups of rhubarb and yogurt instead of milk. It takes about 45-50 minutes to bake then. I also only use half the sugars and it's still plenty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
Alright, I thought this recipe was a 3 or 4 (good but not amazing), but everyone told me it was a 5. I used 2 cups rhubarb, 1 cup strawberries (one does not exist without the other, no?), and at least 3x the topping (but only 2 tb butter). Baked it for 40 min in a 9x13 pan and people raved. Who knew? They even asked for the recipe...thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RWLEVINSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Davis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
This cake was excellent! The only change I made was to make it in a 9x13 baking pan, rather than two smaller pans. Very moist, excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
I really enjoyed this dessert. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States