Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 30, 2009
A++. Fabulous. Made it exactly as written. Might add some cinnamon next time, but even without it's delicious. My husband who doesn't even like sweets thought it was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Very good! I made half a recipe, with one whole egg, and the full amount of topping as FNCHEF recommended. It turned out great! I added some cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter, and a little cinnamon to the topping as well. One other thing I did was sprinkle the bottom of the pan with cinnamon and sugar after greasing it before I put the batter in. We didn't have any almonds on hand but it was really good without them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This was barely out of the oven for 10 minutes and I had to try it. YUM! I did just half a recipe (1 whole egg, everything else worked out) and then used the whole topping recipe (of course!)...adding maybe 1tsp cinnamon to both the cake and the topping. Wow, this is easy and outstanding! I'm excited to share it with coworkers tomorrow! (PS: if serving as dessert, would be excellent with a dollop of fresh whipped cream...yum!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2009
Very tastey, I made this with a little less sugar and it was marvelous. As others said, it could use more rhubarb than stated, I'll try 2 cups next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
After reading the reviews,I must be the only one in the world who feels strawberry does not go with rhubarb. I personally love raspberries with rhubarb so I added them for more flavor. I like this cake and think the topping is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
Wow! What a great little recipe! I made only one change and that was putting pecans instead of almonds into it. It was something I had on hand and it came out FANTASTIC! I'm sure if any nuts would be great... almonds, pecans, walnuts... super easy, moist! YUMMY! a great hit and definitely a repeater!! Thanks for a great recipe!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
A 5* with my alterations. I added 2.5 cups frozen(thaw) rhubarb olive oil, and almond extract, instead of vanilla and 1 cup of brown sugar. I used brown sugar for the topping and see that I forgot to add melted butter(didn't appear to need it). Put in a medium springform pan for about 50 minutes. Served with real whipping cream with almond extract as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
I have a huge rhubarb plant, and have been trying everything to use it up. This was delicious- brought it to a friend's place, and everyone raved over it. I had to bake it for much, much longer than the recipe said, though. Also, I subbed in half the oil with plain yoghurt, and next time I'll add more rhubarb. However, absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
This is my favorite coffee cake. The whole family loves it! It freezes well, so you can eat one and save one for another time. I've tried a lot of rhubarb recipes from this site, (it's the one thing that will grow in our garden) and this is the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
This was delicious. I substituted olive oil for vegetable oil since I was all out and added a dash of nutmeg and a dash of cinnamon. The amount of rhubarb was perfect in the recipe, not to much, not to little. I love nuts of all kind, and I personally would add more almonds on the top when I made this again! I would definetly make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States