Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
Inspiring. I don't understand these people giving one away! We gobble them both up! They go quickly. I also put 3 cups of rhubarb in, and that makes it perfect. Thanks for the recipe! We go crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
Wonderful!! I used some less brown sugar and saved all the almonds for the top! I served it at my B&B and everyone raved about it and even took more than 1 piece!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This gets an enthusiastic 5 stars! As other reviewers suggested, I also used half applesauce in place of half the oil. I only had 1 c. plus 1 T. brown sugar, but it was just the right sweetness for us even with doubling the tart rhubarb to 3 cups. I put almonds on top and in the batter as directed and liked it that way. I know I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Photo by Elena
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
This is amazing! I only wish I'd had more rhubarb--I was only able to use 2 c. I adore the topping though, and will likely use this on other cakes and muffins as well. Following the advice of other reviews, I subbed applesauce for half the oil and left the nuts out of the batter. I also added a dash of cinnamon to the topping, to give it a little extra kick. Delicious! I'm tempted to eat it all myself. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elena

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rock Springs, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a wonderful coffee cake. I followed the recipe exactly. At the last minute after I already had the topping on, I decided to double the topping. I made the second batch of topping with brown sugar instead of granulated - so each cake had a little of both on top. The cake was moist and flavorful and the combination of the 2 sugars was a nice change of pace. Everyone loved this - great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Beth
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This cake is very moist and so good! I used 1 cup of apple sauce instead of the oil to lessen the fat content. I also baked it in a sheet cake pan. It baked to perfection in 35 minutes. My first coffee cake! I will make it again! A great way to use my mass amounts of rhubarb. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sopenia
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
Got a wet pasty cake and lacking in flavor. I was so looking forward to enjoying this cake but had to toss it; always sad to toss something after putting all the work into making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sopenia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
This was so good, but I didn't think the topping was enough for both coffee cakes, so I doubled the butter, almonds and did white and brown sugar. Still could have been more, but was so goodl Going to do it with apples blueberries next time - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
this coffee cake looked wonderful, made it and it came out tuff. not sure what i did wrong. in the picture it looked wonderful mine looked like a pancake. were we suppose to use baking soda? or powder? the recipe said soda. hmmmmmm any ideas?and when you say white sugar did you mean granulated or powder?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Awesome! I couldn't get enough of this cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayleR.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midwest City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Buckley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Blueberry Coffee Cake I

This dense, moist cake is easy to assemble and perfect with coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States