Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 15, 2013
Loved it because it's not super-sweet-over-the-top like so many desserts now and I have lots of rhubarb to use. I like the crunch the almonds give throughout. I chopped whole almonds rather than buying sliced & used 1/2 cup organic cane sugar in place of some of the brown sugar bc I ran out. Next time I will try more rhubarb and applesauce for 1/2 the oil like others did & try a bundt/ring pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This was good, thanks for sharing! I kept tasting salty bites though, even though I felt like I mixed well...so will have to be more careful with that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
I make lots of rhubarb recipes and keep very few - they just don't 'do it' for me.. This one, though, is a keeper! I love the addition of almonds on top. I did make changes that other people had suggested - almonds only on top, cinnamon in the topping, and using applesauce instead of oil. I also used 3 c. of rhubarb. I also made it in a square cake pan to keep and two small loaf pans to give away as gifts. They all turned out great! I'll be making this one again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Zimmerman, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very tasty, but very crumbly! I made in 2 9-inch round pans, and it was fragile after it cooled. Loved the sugared almonds on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 4kidsinthehouse

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Bravo! Added 3 cups rhubarb, no almonds in batter, almond extract instead of vanilla, and topping x 3. Coffee and donuts at church...people took some with them "for the road" and requested the recipe. Yeah...well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
This was wonderful. I only made a few changes. I added about 1 tsp of cinnamon, increased the rhubarb to 2 c (because that's what I had), and added a small amount of almond extract to the topping. I also baked it in a 9 x 13 pan for 40 minutes. My whole family loved it. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I would personally give this 3 starts, but all of my B&B guests said they liked it (no one took seconds though). I think it needs twice as much rhubarb, and I would toast the almonds before using. I followed the recipe exactly as stated except I made it in a 10 cup bundt pan (put the streusel on the bottom of the pan). It looked lovely and smelled great - it just didn't have that much flavor, which surprised me. Oh well, will try another.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Why does this recipe need to be changed so much? It's pretty darn good just the way it is :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KitchenWitch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Estacada, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eagle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
Substituted apple sauce for the oil. Delicious and irresistable as promised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosie Amoroso

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Family liked it. I thought it was ok. It did not rise much, and was dense though moist. The amount of sugar and oil in it is the reason I won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States