Almond Rhubarb Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2005
We really enjoyed this cake. I used just 2 T oil and 5/8 c applesauce to reduce the fat and calorie count. I also replaced the vanilla with almond extract and added a few extra drops to the topping. I also baked in a sheet cake pan instead of rounds. No adjustment was needed on bake time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This is a good recipe for using all the rhubarb I have this year. I thought it just needed some tweaking. The adjustments I made are: use 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 tsp almond, replace 1/2 the flour with whole wheat (you hardly notice), didn't put the almonds in the batter, 2 1/2 c rhubarb (my husband and I both agree that it still needed more), replace 1/2 the oil with applesauce (I think it wound up moister that way), and used egg powder & powdered milk (both reconstituted) in place of the egg and milk. Can you tell I'm trying to use my food storage too? :) I think it turned out great, but my husband wanted walnuts instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara Nichol Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2005
This is now my favorite rhubarb recipe. I made it exactly as the recipe states and it was fantastic. Brought one to work and it disappeared right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
This is a nice moist cake! I added 3C. of rhubarb (only because thats how much I ended up with after chopping it up), doubled the topping, only adding almonds in it and not the cake part; poured it into a 9x13 pan and baked it an extra 5 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I firmly believed that rhubarb was a terrible waste of good garden space, and that it didn't belong in any recipe at all. However, I discovered this recipe and due to an abundant rhubarb crop this year, I tried it out. WOW...what an awesome recipe. I followed the recipe exactly save for replacing half of the oil with applesauce, using ground almonds instead of sliced, and upping the amount of rhubarb to 2 1/2 cups. I had to bake it about 10 minutes longer than suggested, but it made 2 very attractive and delicious rhubarb coffee cakes. I've been converted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
Wow - Made two cakes, stuck one in the freezer so we can have some great rhubarb after the season ends. It looks as good as it tastes. This is a definite keeper! Thanks very much for sharing, Neris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
Great Coffee Cake! I followed the suggestions and added 2 1/2 cups rhubarb. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Excellent recipe for rhubarb. Moist and yummy! I didn't put the almonds into the cake, just on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2005
I think this is terrific. I was low on butter so needed a rhubarb cake make w/oil. Moist and the topping is very crunchy and pretty. Forgot to stir the almonds into the batter but it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I followed others suggestions and added 2 1/2 cups of rhubarb...EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Rhubarb Cake I

Tender and moist cake with rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States