Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2009
I teach Culinary Arts at a high school. Two of my students made these and they were delicious!! They did have to add cream of tartar to make the meringue stiff enough, but other than that, the recipe was great. Thanks, Dinah
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I really like this combination of flavors and didn't find it too sweet. I only used half the butter and it was enough, so I recommend doing that, and then you can mix in more butter later 1 Tbsp at a time if you feel so inclined. Meringue was a cinch, just whip it up in a standing mixer till it looks like shaving cream. Only trouble I had was spreading it evenly, so some bars had more meringue than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was good, not blow your socks off amazing though. I used blackberries and raspberries.I don't know that I would make it again. But my boyfriend did eat all of it. So...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatFitz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I do a similar Raspberry Bar using a shortbread base and no merigue... def looking forward to trying this new twist :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Malia81

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2009
These have long been favs in our household where they are called Louise cakes .My grandmother made them as did my mother and now I am making them for my grandchildren !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FUNLETA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These are delicious and easy. The only trouble I had was that the crust was a bit greasy. Next time I will cut the amount of butter used in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FUNLETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Tasty but I would suggest about 5 minutes less in the oven for the crust and an extra 5 minutes (over the 20) for the meringue. Following the recipe rendered my crust crumbly and the meringue watery about 30 minutes after taking it out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
I've made these two years in a row for the holidays and they are amazing. If you love almond and raspberry these are the perfect bars. So addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Homestead, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Wonderful bar and nice to have almond paste in the crust. Love almond flavor in anything. The only change for us is to use apricot jam because we prefer it with the almond taste. This, of course, is a personal preference and not a criticism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States