Almond-Raspberry Meringue Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Great flavour combination! :D I like my merengues a little more dry, so I elongated the second baking time.. and lowered the temperature for that to 130 celcius. Also I used homemade blueberry jam.... Just perfect! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
These are very good! I especially liked the crust. I also thought they tasted better chilled than at room temp. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
Really sweet, great with strong black coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by qsti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallinn, Harju, Estonia
Living In: Vantaa, Uusimaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Honestly, these were really good, but the meringue was still too soft in the middle. I like it when it becomes dry and crispy. Next time I make these, I will probably make less merigue, so that i speads thinner, and cooks crispier. Otherwise, the flavors were fabulous, and very easy to make too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2007
I loved these! Everyone at work did too! I used blueberry preserves-my own and I think I would use more meringue too--the next day they drop a bit. I loved the almond flavor, this looked and tasted like it took forever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2007
These were tasty, but a bit too sweet for me. My friends at work loved them though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Pera Reznik

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cliffside Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: East Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by uscberta
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
Great recipe- all my friends absolutely loved them! They're fall apart pretty easily if you're not careful when you cut them up, but they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
This recipe was excellent! Wouldn't change a thing and will be making it again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I used to make Rainbow Cookies every Christmas, but with 2 toddlers in the house, I was looking for an easier recipe to use the almond paste I had already bought. These were fantastic, and tasted very similar to the rainbow cookies, but SO much easier! Next year I'm going to sprinkle some chocolate shavings on them instead of coconut so they'll be even more similar to rainbow cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
These are divine- I really love them. I used almond paste from Germany (who's fancy? lol) and half whole-wheat pastry flour. I used a very high quality seedless raspberry jam; used a whole 10 oz. jar. I've never made meringue before, so I was afraid of over-beating it, and as a result, didn't beat it enough. My layer wasn't very thick at all, and it didn't have the right texture, but it still tasted good. Before I make these again I will practice making meringue. I love the delicate almond flavor highlighted by the tart raspberries. Fresh raspberries on top, like another reviewer did, would make it even better. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States