Almond Puff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2004
5 stars plus! This is a really delicious pastry. I used margarine instead of butter as indicated in the body of the recipe. Don't let the lack of sugar scare you. It's perfect. The glaze recipe is missing 1 T of milk to thin it down properly. Add that to the glaze. I sprinkled mine with red and green decorator sprinkles to make it look festive for the holidays. Yummy! My favorite of the Christmas cookie plate this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
These rock... Everyone always loves them. I love almond flavoring. If you don't care much for it, I doubt you'd like these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
I add some crushed pineapple to the puff filling layer. It's good for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
I've used this recipe (or one just like it) for twenty years. I have yet to serve this - either at home or a party - that's it's not completely gone in minutes. It sounds complicated, but once you've made it, you'll realize how easy it is! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Acampo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2010
I've been making this recipe for years and it's always the first to go at potlucks! My friend made this delicious variation -- she placed fresh blueberries on top of the dough and covered them with the custard mixture before baking. Yummy goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Soooo Good. Will make again. I took this to my sons school for a bake sale and it was the first thing to sell out
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOVERDALE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
My Mom used to make this and I had lost the recipe, so was happy to find it here. She used almond extract in the glaze and chopped walnuts instead of almonds on top, but I think almonds carries the theme better. They are wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burnsville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
This is the same as Kringler (some call it Danish Kringler, some Swedish Kringler). I grew up in a little town with TONS of swedish heritage. This was my favorite thing! As soon as I was an adult, and moved away, I had to hunt down the recipe for kringler, as I love all things almond. =) This is exactly like the recipe that I have. I agree that for the first time it may look a bit complicated, but it really is so easy. For the crust, I just put it all down in a baking pan..I don't do the 2 rectangles. Also, before stirring in the eggs one at a time, I stir the flower/butter mixture a bit to let it cool down a little. (side note, this is not an overly sweet pastry. The pastry itself is a choux pastry, made like a cream puff almost. the sweetness really mostly comes from the icing)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
This reminds me of growing up, my mom used to make this all of the time. The wonderful aroma, when it is baking, still brings back fond memories! :) I have made this several times & it is always a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SportyLori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jarrell, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
very easy and delicious!!I wasn't sure how these would turn out, the first two layers having no sugar and 3 eggs.They are wonderful!! The only change I made was using almond extract in the glaze instead of vanilla. Will make again! Thanks Megan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Raspberry and Almond Thumbprints

Your favorite thumbprint cookies, jazzed up with delicious glaze.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Sophisticated Almond Appetizers

Easy and elegant, these almond appetizers are anything but complicated.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States